A bit confused with a Vectric model

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

This is a model that I recently downloaded from Vectric.
I'm at a loos as to how to cut it.
The model has large holes in it.
The software does not surface the center areas where the holes are.
MODEL ISO.JPG
ISO.JPG
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi Jan,

This might work...

1) Create a vector boundary for the model

2) Select just the perimeter boundary vector ONLY

3) Use Selected Vector when creating your rough and finish toolpaths
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Bob Reda
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot 48x48 upgraded prt
Location: Monessen, Pa
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by Bob Reda »

The model might be recessed into the wood too much. You may need thicker material. Check the model height and see that it falls within the thickness of your wood.

Bob

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi Bob,

That’s probably not the issue. The model has intentional voids in the interior area. The steps I outlined above should work.

There is another method - that is to create a very thin merged plane that covers (and fills) the interior voids. The model will then look correct when carved.

Either method works fine.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Michael,
If I create a vector boundary, it automatically creates a boundary around the outside perimeter and the inside.
I cannot separate them. They are tied together.

Bob,
I increased the wood thickness to account for the model height.
It doesn't make any difference.

Michael,
I don't understand what you mean by creating a merged plane.
Remember, I only have Desktop and not Aspire.

Maybe I need to go direct to Vectric with the issue.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi,

No need to contact Vectric. It’s a simple solution.

Your vectors may be Grouped. Select them and press the letter “U” on your keyboard. Then select just the outer perimeter vector and create your rough and finish Toolpaths. That should do the trick.

In case you’re curious, for the merged plane method using VCarve Desktop, create a Zero Plane and resize it to cover the voids (it doesn’t really need any thickness applied - it will fill the voids without it).

BTW, a Zero Plane is “invisible” by default. Go to your Layer Manager and click the lightbulb icon for the Zero Plane Layer to make it visible. Then you can see what you’re doing when you resize it.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by mtylerfl »

Jan, I’m just checking in to see if you got it, or if you need more help.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Michael,
Ungrouping the vectors worked.
Thank you so much for your help.
Capture.JPG
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: A bit confused with a Vectric model

Post by mtylerfl »

Excellent, Jan! Good job - that’s going to be beautiful!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Post Reply