importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
jdeshields1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Routakit SD, BobsCNC E-3

importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by jdeshields1 »

I love doing the monthly projects by Michael Tyler, but I have found that a lot of them (especially the ones my wife loves) are in Aspire format. Is there a way to convert these files to work in VCarve Pro?

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by highpockets »

The short answer is no....
John
Maker of Chips

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 846
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by adze_cnc »

I suppose that if you have Aspire you could export all the vectors, component parts (probably as STL), and toolpaths and then import the lot into VCarve.

ezurick

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by ezurick »

jdeshields1 wrote:I love doing the monthly projects by Michael Tyler, but I have found that a lot of them (especially the ones my wife loves) are in Aspire format. Is there a way to convert these files to work in VCarve Pro?

lol. I asked the same question to vectric since I really wanted a few that were Aspire only... short answer... No. They stated that they do not wish to go back on past projects and want to leave them 'as-is'. I personally can't see why it would be a big deal.. but what do I know? :roll:

I have requested that future projects include us VC folks... no reply on that one....

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by highpockets »

Part of the reason is some of the features used to create the projects are only available in Aspire.
John
Maker of Chips

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1598
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (extensively modified)
Location: Renton, WA USA

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by FixitMike »

You can use the trial version of Aspire, open a file in it, and Save As a .crv file to use in VCarve. Unfortunately, you are will probably loose any 3D information contained in the file.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

ezurick

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by ezurick »

highpockets wrote:Part of the reason is some of the features used to create the projects are only available in Aspire.

I don't have Aspire to test that. Nor can I afford it... but I wouldn't think it would be that difficult to save most any project in VC format. I am not talking about "creating the project". Just basically toolpaths for the vectors/3D. Take a gander at Michael's weathervane rooster clock project. I am positive he created most things in Aspire. But he was able to easily save it in VC format for us peasants...

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10240
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by Adrian »

Remember that the free projects are marketing tools for Vectric primarily. They alternate between Aspire and VCarve.

ezurick

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by ezurick »

Adrian wrote:Remember that the free projects are marketing tools for Vectric primarily. They alternate between Aspire and VCarve.

Ok.. but they, of all people, should understand that a small business can perfectly thrive on just VC and not have to invest dearly into Aspire. It shouldn't hurt them in any way to save the monthly projects in both formats. Besides, you have to have a valid purchased account (customer portal) to even view the contents of those free projects. VC now supports 3D and perhaps most toolpath features. When they post monthly free projects JUST for Aspire folks, it is like throwing us peasants OUT of the bus... lol. I would think most VC owners would agree... However, I stand corrected if there are features in the project that only Aspire can perform.

User avatar
Jim_in_PA
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by Jim_in_PA »

Multiple models in a file would preclude cutting them on VCP if I'm not mistaken. There's been a limitation in VCP for one model per project.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10240
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by Adrian »

The limitation is on 3rd party models. You can have as many Vectric format (V3M) models in VCarve as you like.

User avatar
Jim_in_PA
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by Jim_in_PA »

Adrian wrote:The limitation is on 3rd party models. You can have as many Vectric format (V3M) models in VCarve as you like.

Thanks for the clarification, Adrian!

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4774
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: importing Aspire files in VCarve Pro

Post by martin54 »

As Adrian has said the free projects are a marketing tool, they are produced using the software from start to finish to demonstrate what can be done with the software. I believe Michael uses Aspire to create the projects that are Aspire only & VCP for those that don't require any modeling tools. It's not simply a case of saving an aspire file in VCP format either as if that were done all the 3D data would be lost.
The projects often show the new features added after a new version has been released. For the Aspire only projects VCP could only do half the job, yes it can cut the projects but it cant actually create them to start with :lol: :lol: :lol:

I started with VCP, well actually I started with cut2D (thinking that was all I would need) & ugraded to VCP, I didn't see a problem with not having the same number of free projects as Aspire users but at that time VCP didn't have the ability to generate 3D toolpaths

Post Reply