PhotoVCarve problem

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

So I sprung for the $90.00 and upgraded to Desktop V-10
The only reason I did so was for the photo V carve option.
I was excited.
I immediately started watching the tutorials.
Then I decided to import a picture of my granddaughter with her dog and try it.
It turned out quite well (maybe a little dark) but I was pleased and excited to get out to the shop.
First thing I did is try it on a piece of MDF.
Lesson learned, don’t use MDF as it has no strength for detail and chips out. (I should have known better)
Next I tried a piece of pine.
Same results. (Very poor)
Now I'm thinking that, yes in the tutorials they show you very good results on screen, but I have yet to see and actual finished project.
There is also no mention of what kind of wood to use.
I think that I have followed the instructions closely.
As much as I like the Vectric software, I cant help but wonder if I just pissed away $90.00.
Has anyone else tried it yet?
Can you post some pictures of the results?
Any critique is appreciated.
Attachments
WHAT ITS SUPPOSED TO LOOK LIKE.jpg
MDF.jpg
PINE 2.jpg
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Adrian »

Look in the PhotoVCarve section of the forum. There are loads of pictures of completed projects and tips on how to do them.

Jhodge76
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jhodge76 »

For the new toolpathing harder wood will probably give better results. I tried a picture in pine and it came out ok but I screwed up the finish on it.
15671.jpeg
I did the same picture in PVC a while back but with different settings that aren't currently available in the new integrated toolpathing.
15669.jpeg

I think both are cool, both versions need some fine tuning on my part. :?

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Adrian,
Yeah, I looked there, but most of the posts are years old and appears to do with lithophanes.
I would like to get proficient in photo V carve before I tackle that.
Right now I'm not pleased with my results.
I'm going to try a piece of PVC next.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

ezurick

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by ezurick »

I'll be watching this thread because I have the same results on my first try with pine. Although the preview looked like it was going to be acceptable, it carved chop suey and very bad results. I used the default settings that were there when I upgraded... so I will definitely back off the depth and perhaps slow it down a bit. But I hope things get better. Maybe I'll try Poplar next time.

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

So, when I have problems like this, it wakes me up at 3:00 am. and I lay there thinking about it.
What I've come up with now is to change my depth of cut in the tool settings to .01"
While I realize the total machine time will be increased, I'm hoping this will reduce the stress of cutting.
Also, I'm going to try just a single raster instead of a cross hatch.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Adrian »

Jan.vanderlinden wrote:Adrian,
Yeah, I looked there, but most of the posts are years old and appears to do with lithophanes.
I would like to get proficient in photo V carve before I tackle that.
Right now I'm not pleased with my results.
I'm going to try a piece of PVC next.
PhotoVCarve hasn't been updated for years so the age of the posts doesn't matter. The PhotoVCarve toolpath in VCarve can't do lithopanes currently.

There is a wealth of info on there. Back when I used to do PhotoVCarve stuff I learnt a lot from that forum section. I got my best results when using laminated plastic (colorcore, similar to the way the guy in the 2nd thread here has used melamine mdf). Using wood the key is to get the contrast between the uncut and cut areas so you don't see the real picture until you've completed the finishing.

http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=25025
http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=21756

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

So I've been playing with the file this morning and found an interesting problem.
My total depth of the finished carve is set at .06"
My depth per pass was set a .02"
At this setting the total calculated carve time is 22 minutes.

So I thought I would change the depth per pass to .01"
Logic would tell you that the total carve time would increase.
But it didn't. It remained at 22 minutes.

Now in retrospect, When I was doing my carves that turned out so bad, I realize that the carve took only one pass to complete.
That means, my depth of cut was .06" and not what i had set it for.
If my setting of .02" per pass would have been calculated. then it should have taken 3 passes to complete and a total time of ~66 minutes.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Adrian.
Thank you.
Those are good reads.
Maybe I'm using the wrong material.
However, in the tutorials they do not mention what type of material to use.
I was really hoping to use some nice wood (red oak for instance)
I think it would be a much nicer gift than a piece of melamine.

But now I'm wondering if the problem that I posted above is a possible factor.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3960
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Rcnewcomb »

I was really hoping to use some nice wood (red oak for instance)
Oak isn't a great choice for PhotoVCarve because of the open grain. Something like hard maple should work much better.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Thanks Randy.
I will try that.

However I still have the problem of the software not respecting my settings.
I just did a test with the depth of cut set to .01" and the total depth of .06"
It went straight to the total depth setting, made one pass and was done.
That's just not right.
It should have made 6 shallow passes.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

BDM
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by BDM »

Adrian wrote: PhotoVCarve hasn't been updated for years so the age of the posts doesn't matter. The PhotoVCarve toolpath in VCarve can't do lithopanes currently.
All of these threads regarding the photovcarve toolpath have been confusing, but based on what I've read, why couldn't you do a lithopane? What is missing compared to PhotoVCarve (the program)?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Adrian »

BDM wrote:
Adrian wrote: PhotoVCarve hasn't been updated for years so the age of the posts doesn't matter. The PhotoVCarve toolpath in VCarve can't do lithopanes currently.
All of these threads regarding the photovcarve toolpath have been confusing, but based on what I've read, why couldn't you do a lithopane? What is missing compared to PhotoVCarve (the program)?
You can't do a lithopane with the VCarve version. It doesn't support ball nose tools.

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Adrian,'
What is your take on the fact that when I do a photo V carve, the cutter goes straight to the depth set in the "max depth" box.
And it ignores the fact that I set depth of cut in the tool set up window?
As an example. I did a test cut and set my depth per pass at .01"
However, the machine went straight to the max depth of .06" set in the photo V carve window
Did I explain that right?
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: PhotoVCarve problem

Post by Adrian »

I would guess it works the same way as a 3D finishing toolpath in that it cuts the depth it needs to regardless of the tool pass depth but I could be totally wrong on that. Whenever I've done one the pass depth of the tool has always been more than the cut depth.

Post Reply