Vector movement

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
skieva
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve

Vector movement

Post by skieva »

Awhile back I saw a video that uses a - or + to adjust the movement of a vector. I cannot remember which video. Can someone point me to a video to demonstrates this. I am trying to adjust the dimensions of an opposing oval to make a box fit properly.

Skip....

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4376
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Vector movement

Post by mtylerfl »

skieva wrote:Awhile back I saw a video that uses a - or + to adjust the movement of a vector. I cannot remember which video. Can someone point me to a video to demonstrates this. I am trying to adjust the dimensions of an opposing oval to make a box fit properly.

Skip....
Are you sure about that, Skip? I don't know of any method of moving a vector using the - or + keys

You can use the regular Set Size tool to adjust the size of your oval to whatever is needed.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

User avatar
ezurick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:27 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6040

Re: Vector movement

Post by ezurick »

Did you see this video in regards to "Node Edit Mode"? I am not a seasoned expert like Michael, but I looked at that and I see no other way to move vectors except by grabbing the black boxes and move them with your mouse. Or am I way off of what you mean?
~ Ed

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4376
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Vector movement

Post by mtylerfl »

Skip,

We’re probably not understanding your question properly. Could you provide more details, please?
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Savannahdan
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 12:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8
Location: Savannah, GA

Re: Vector movement

Post by Savannahdan »

I'll move some vectors using the directional keys on my keyboard but usually default to using the black boxes ezurick is referring to. I tried to see what the + and - would do and they did nothing. So, I'm curious as well.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10114
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Vector movement

Post by Adrian »

All I can think is that the video showed the Move dialog (shortcut key M) with the move mode set to absolute and the person then entered postive/negative numbers into the X Y fields.

bbiehl
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Arty 58; Aspire 9.5
Location: Western Oregon

Re: Vector movement

Post by bbiehl »

You can also move the node of a vector by selecting the black node (it turns red) and then using the arrow keys. Or use the numerical pad arrow keys with the Num Lock turned off. How much it moves with each stroke depends on how far you are zoomed in.

-brian

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Vector movement

Post by sharkcutup »

You can also move the node of a vector by selecting the black node (it turns red) and then using the arrow keys. Or use the numerical pad arrow keys with the Num Lock turned off. How much it moves with each stroke depends on how far you are zoomed in.

-brian

Hey Brian,

That is pretty nifty!!! :shock: I have been a user of this software since March 2016 and was totally unaware of this feature. The more you Zoom in the less the node moves/nudges.

Note: You really don't even need a node selected. You can actually move a feature (circle, box, etc...) using the numerical keyboard (4 left, 6 right, 8 up, & 2 down) or if your keyboard has arrow keys you can use those!!!

AWESOME Tip!! Thanks Brian!!!

Sharkcutup
Facebook: Hogan's CNC Crafts
Website: www.hoganscnccrafts.com
V-Carve Pro 9.519

Bobtail Farm
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade

Re: Vector movement

Post by Bobtail Farm »

bbiehl wrote:You can also move the node of a vector by selecting the black node (it turns red) and then using the arrow keys. Or use the numerical pad arrow keys with the Num Lock turned off. How much it moves with each stroke depends on how far you are zoomed in.

-brian

+1

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1585
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (extensively modified)
Location: Renton, WA USA

Re: Vector movement

Post by FixitMike »

You can also move more than one node at a time. Just click and drag across the nodes you want to move (or shift click) and then use the arrow keys.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3446
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Vector movement

Post by scottp55 »

The 4 "Node editing" Tips and Tricks REALLY helped me when I saw them when they came out.....short AND informative...the way I like them:)
http://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tricks/select.php
"One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions"

GMH


scott

User avatar
ezurick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:27 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6040

Re: Vector movement

Post by ezurick »

So much for the Tips & Tricks forum... lol. just satin' :)
~ Ed

Post Reply