Freeebie file are much bigger than my workarea

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
ElderlyGent
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX

Freeebie file are much bigger than my workarea

Post by ElderlyGent »

HI all.
I am a newbie to 3d, but have done a lot of pen making and general wood turning in the past, so not exactly a total one. It was my Brother in Law who works for Woodcraft that got me into this some years ago, and it was he who did a 3d course and now takes classes for Woodcraft. That said, it was after I looked at some of the pieces he made that the bug bit me.
I bught a Piranha FX as it is the entry level machine and it works perfectly. I spent weeks trying to learn the 'How to do its' tutorial videos in Vectric before taking the plunge and it has helped a lot.
So just been making several test pieces for now.
I have met some little problems that some of you well established experts might be willing to sort out for me.
One is that when I measure the thickness of the work piece there always seems to be slight variations. So when setting up the work in Vectric which reading do I use? This seems to make a difference when getting to the last cut. does it cut through or not. I have had both happen.
But the main one is that some of the 'Freebies' I see are ones I would like to do, such as the decorated boxes. when I download them and open them in Vectric they all need a big work area, such as 2ft by 2 ft or more. Now my work are is a mear 1ft by 1 ft. So the files are much bigger than that. I think shrinking them is not the way to go, so how do I get round this. do I try to select each one in turn and make a seperate file for that,,,, 6 to a box. or is there an easier way to do this.
Also with the supplied Vectric Desktop there are NO gadgets available. so I can't create my own with the box creator unless I upgade to Pro for an extra £300. Not tight, but just careful. If pushed then I will get Pro upgrade.