5 axis carving

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Jdmorgan82
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve

5 axis carving

Post by Jdmorgan82 »

So I’m going to build a new cnc machine and I’m curious if I gave it 5/6 axes would vcarve be able to utilize them. I know it can do rotary so I’m not worried about that.

—Thanks,
Josh

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4250
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: 5 axis carving

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Vectric products only toolpath a maximum of 3 axes, even when you are doing rotary work. You would need a different CAM package to move 4 or 5 axes at a time.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

kilrabit
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:04 am
Location: Uvalde Texas

Re: 5 axis carving

Post by kilrabit »

Vectric also does not model or cut any undercuts.

Post Reply