toolpath options 3d cutting

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
RobSm
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6090

toolpath options 3d cutting

Post by RobSm »

HI.

In 3d cutting Rough & finishing what are the implications of choosing 'model boundary' or 'selected vector' - the simulations appear to be the same.

Thanks,
Rob.

M Queen
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: WinCNC Hybrid
Location: Buckhannon, WV, USA
Contact:

Re: toolpath options 3d cutting

Post by M Queen »

Image1.jpg
If you Create a Vector Boundary Around Selected Components, it is about the same thing, but if you don't have a a vector drawn you'll get an error message telling you that you don't have a vector selected.

You might also have a vector drawn that doesn't completely cover the model, in which case only the part of the model covered by the vector boundary will be toolpathed.
Mike Queen
Microsystems World CNC (WinCNC)
https://www.youtube.com/user/cncMike304

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: toolpath options 3d cutting

Post by IslaWW »

They will be if you use the model to generate the vector. If you need to restrict or expand the boundary for some reason, then draw your own vector.

For example, in this video: (2 minutes in)

I used a large pass depth and an aggressive bit to remove the perimeter material first, then went back with smaller passes and did a Z level rough
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

Post Reply