Total Newbie Needs Help

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
DocRock
Model of CNC Machine: SmartShop II 5x10

Total Newbie Needs Help

Post by DocRock »

Aloha All,

I'm new to VCP and CNCing for that matter. I have a large table we are creating out of a 2.5in thick walnut table blank we glued up. It's basically a very large oval and we are attempting two seemingly easy but I'm learning $1700 worth of wasted wood later it's not as easy as it looks.

First we need a profile cut that will create the initial shape of the oval 106"x44." so first question is how do we accomplish this when the bit is only sticking out about 2.25" (totally willing to buy new end mills if needed) I almost killed a brand new machine doing this wrong already.
'
Second we need a gradual slope inward starting about .25" up from bottom of material and sloping inward until we reach the top of material about 2.25" creating a angular sweep if you will. see pic.

Please any advise on doing this from proper bits to how to do tool paths to feed and speeds will help. Already drained a lot of time and $$$ doing this the incorrect way. Please excuse any mistakes in this post again absolutely green here.

file to take a look if you dare can be found here: https://d.pr/cqFC

Thanks in advance for any help.

Mahalo,
Doc

Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC

Re: Total Newbie Needs Help

Post by Rcnewcomb »

I have a couple of suggestions:
1."learning $1700 worth of wasted wood later it's not as easy as it looks." Use pink or blue foam insulation sheets for practice. It is much more forgiving and cheaper while you learn.
2. "2.5in thick walnut table blank", but your thickness in your CRV file is only 2.25. If you plan on cutting this out on the CNC then you should change that to 2.5"