Restarting File Plan

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Stephen50
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop

Restarting File Plan

Post by Stephen50 »

I'm cutting a large file up to line 21,262 with no end in sight, had to quit last night and I really don't want to start all over again. What is the procedure for picking up from where I left off at and completing the project?

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Restarting File Plan

Post by PaulRowntree »

What controller are you using?
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Restarting File Plan

Post by Adrian »

The ShopBot software has the FG command which will ask you from which line you want to start the cut from. There have been numerous reports from people on the ShopBot forum who have problems with that though especially with the latest 3.8.x versions of the software. Some things to consider are the starting postition, move speeds, spindle start commands etc.

Personally for the few times I've done it I've actually edited the SBP file and removed all the lines that have been cut but leaving the setup code at the beginning so I know exactly what the file is going to do when it's restarted.

WoodEraser
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus
Location: Liberty Twp (N. Cincinnati) OH

Re: Restarting File Plan

Post by WoodEraser »

My machine controller (Shark Pro Plus) software has a pause button.
I click on it, turn off router and leave everything else powered up.
In the AM I just turn router on and resume cutting.
Done this many of times with no problems.
Eric
The WoodEraser

Liberty Twp (N. of Cincinnati & S. of Dayton) Ohio

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Restarting File Plan

Post by Adrian »

You can do the same with the ShopBot but I read the question as he had already shut everything down.

Gerry Perrault
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Granby,Qc, Canada
Contact:

Re: Restarting File Plan

Post by Gerry Perrault »

hi
When i do a large file i have an habit of taking the line number of my file about every 15 minutes or so that i write down.
Like this if something ever happens i don't ruin my work. I use Mack 3 controller. You can even shot down your machine
and restart your work at the desired line minus a couple of lines less.
you start at x0 and y0 z0 ,go to the desired lines and start. don't forget to raise your cutting tool.
I suggest that you practice a couple of times so you feel confortable with this. It is a good way of knowing your cnc.
Gerry
I rather be the leader,than the follower

Post Reply