Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
User avatar
Carrie V
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: GerberSabre408, AXYZ 8010, Thermwood
Location: Brantford Ontario Canada

Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by Carrie V »

Can I use Vector Art 3D with Vcarve Pro? or is it only for Aspire? If I can use it with Vcarve is there a tutorial on how to use it?

tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 4797
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot
Location: North Carolina

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by tmerrill »

Yes you can.

If you have Cut3D you can prepare the 3D toolpaths in that and then import the toolpaths into VCP to incorporate with 2D toolpaths.

If you don't have Cut3D, you can download the free 3D Machinist software from VectorArt 3D, along with some free 3D models, and experiment. You can find that program, the free models and 4 tutorials here:

http://www.vectorart3d.com/machinist_free/

Also, tutorial D03 on this page would be helpful:

http://support.vectric.com/tut-vcp-2d-techniques

The overall process will be the same with either Cut3D or 3D Machinist with Cut3d giving your more features as it is a paid program.

Tim

tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 4797
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot
Location: North Carolina

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by tmerrill »

Found another tutorial that should help. It is tutorial A07 on this page:

http://support.vectric.com/tut-vcp-getting-started

Tim

User avatar
Carrie V
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: GerberSabre408, AXYZ 8010, Thermwood
Location: Brantford Ontario Canada

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by Carrie V »

Thanks Guys, I will have a look :)

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by dealguy11 »

Hey, Tim and others, I have a related question. Someone asked me for a model I did in Aspire, and they have VCarve Pro. I know VCP will import toolpaths (but not models) from Machinist and Carve3D. Will it import Aspire toolpaths?

Thanks!
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

tmerrill
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 4797
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot
Location: North Carolina

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by tmerrill »

Hi Steve,

I think your only solution would require Cut3D. You could export the model from Aspire as an STL, input that into Cut3D and prepare the toolpaths and finally import those toolpaths into VCP.

Are you sure they don't have Cut3D or ShopBot's branded Partworks 3D?

Tim

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by dealguy11 »

He says he only has VCarve Pro, and he's using a Laguna machine so I don't think he's using the Shopbot stuff. I'm guessing that he's using an OEM supplied version of VCarve Pro, so may not have the additional software.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Can Vector Art 3D be used with VCarve pro?

Post by PaulRowntree »

Hi Steve

I don't think there is any way to do this directly, but you can 'export' the toolpaths as CSV data from your Aspire4 using the CSV post-processor, then load that 3D data up into his VCP7 with the CSV gadget. He can XY stretch, Z scale, rotate and place it how he wants in VCP, but no more editing than that. It previews properly. You would want to calculate the paths with a tool similar to what he will be using, and step-overs that are good for his machine.

Alternatively, if you can export your Aspire work as an image heightmap, this can be converted to CSV and loaded as well.

Normal copyright issues to be respected.

Cheers!
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

Post Reply