Error

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
User avatar
rtibbs2018
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot desktop
Location: Central Florida

Error

Post by rtibbs2018 »

Ran into an error message that I can't figure out what's wrong.

"No toolpath generated for current parameters. Check tool can fit into selected vectors at machining depth"

This pops up when I hit Calculate.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10245
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Error

Post by Adrian »

There are many causes for that. A lot revolve around errors with the vectors so try using the Vector Validator tool to see if there problems.

The only way you will get a 100% definitive answer is to attach the file so the toolpaths and vectors can be looked at.

User avatar
rtibbs2018
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot desktop
Location: Central Florida

Re: Error

Post by rtibbs2018 »

Adrian,
When I attempt to profile the outline of the part is when I receive the error message.
Using 3/16 EM, 6 passes, outside is how I was setting.
The other three toolpaths preview fine.

Thanks,
Ron
Pawl post.crv
(85.5 KiB) Downloaded 37 times

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10245
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Error

Post by Adrian »

The vector is not closed. If you go into node edit mode and look where the start node is there is a gap. If you close the vector then you'll be able to create an outside profile toolpath.

User avatar
rtibbs2018
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot desktop
Location: Central Florida

Re: Error

Post by rtibbs2018 »

Thanks,
Followed your advice. Not sure what I did but it now profiles.
Without you guys I might have to dust off my scroll saw :oops:

The interesting thing is during one of my previous attempts I had inside cut selected rather then outside and it did calculate and previewed the toolpath. Somewhat smaller of course.


Lots to learn,

Ron

Post Reply