Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
andyl1000
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Nomad 883Pro

Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by andyl1000 »

Should be simple job.
I need 4 moulding toolpaths run on 4 clover shapes (for CNC), to be cut with .125" ball nose and .25" end mill...

Please PM if interested.
Attachments
Clover and profile.JPG
SU rendering of clover.png
SU rendering of clover.png

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger/WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by SteveNelson46 »

Maybe something like this?
Attachments
Moulding Toolpath.png
Steve

andyl1000
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Nomad 883Pro

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by andyl1000 »

Yes!
Pls see PM.
Drawing attached here.
Attachments
Clover w notes 9 14 21 V10.5.crv
(2.37 MiB) Downloaded 5 times

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger/WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by SteveNelson46 »

There are many different ways to do this. Here is my version. This is easy peasy and you should be able to make any changes yourself by studying how I did it. You may use the file in any way you wish free of charge. Here is a link to the file on my Google Drive.



I had a disk crash that required a complete reformat and reinstall of Windows. I think that I restored all of the share permissions as they were before the crash but let me know it you have any problems.
Steve

andyl1000
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Nomad 883Pro

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by andyl1000 »

Wow thanks Steve!

Can someone tell me why I get this error message, even though there's a perimeter cut?
I need to be able to see the end of my profile but cannot with all the waste in the way.

Thanks!
Attachments
Clover tp preview message.JPG

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by dealguy11 »

Probably because you have Preview Simulation Quality (under the Toolpath dropdown) set to "Standard". If you set the preview quality higher the problem should go away.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

User avatar
jfederer
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:09 am
Model of CNC Machine: CanCam D23M
Location: Horton Township Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by jfederer »

Just as it says. You either have tabs, or some other uncut feature joining the desired pieces from the waste.
Joe Federer

www.fabrikisto.com incl. Tailmaker software
www.federer.ca

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger/WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by SteveNelson46 »

Edit the cutout toolpath and delete the tabs. Then you will be able to delete the waste material.
Steve

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger/WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by SteveNelson46 »

Edit the cutouts toolpath and delete the tabs. Then you will be able to delete the waste material.
Attachments
Clover Leaf Edge Moulding.png
Steve

andyl1000
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Nomad 883Pro

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by andyl1000 »

Tabs seemed to be the culprit thanks!
The resolution is unusable however, even at the highest setting...
Any way to improve this?

(I need to verify that the square shoulder (from SU model) was generated)
Attachments
Grainy TP preview.JPG
Clover shoulder detail with dims.JPG

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 5754
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by martin54 »

The sweep vector needs to be changed to add that leg for the shoulder, I don't have V10.5 on this machine sorry :oops: :oops:
sweep.PNG

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1797
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by adze_cnc »

andyl1000 wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:41 am
The resolution is unusable however, even at the highest setting... Any way to improve this?
Remember. there are two (2) resolutions in VCarve:
  1. "Modelling Resolution": set in the "Job Setup" accessed by the menu: Edit > Job Size and Position
  2. "Preview Simulation Quality": accessed by the menu: Toolpath > Preview Simulation Quality
Number 1 is only really applicable for 3D models and 3D toolpaths either imported or built from components within the program.

Number 2 is only useful for the toolpath preview. If your preview is "grainy" increase this setting.

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1797
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by adze_cnc »

By the way. If the profile of the moulding is based upon an existing Ryobi ogee router bit why not create a "form tool" entry in the tool database of the ogee bit and cut the project using the ogee bit and a profile toolpath?

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger/WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by SteveNelson46 »

adze_cnc wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 5:48 pm
By the way. If the profile of the moulding is based upon an existing Ryobi ogee router bit why not create a "form tool" entry in the tool database of the ogee bit and cut the project using the ogee bit and a profile toolpath?
If you already have the bit that would be the easiest method. You could also just let the CNC do the cutouts and use a router table or hand held router for the edge. To me, the object is to complete the job in the easiest way possible. Unless, of course, you just like challenges. However, the OPs original request was to use a moulding toolpath.
Steve

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Looking to hire someone to create moulding toolpath for CNC

Post by dealguy11 »

Router bit won't leave nice sharp inside corners on the leaves like the molding toolpath will.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

Post Reply