Help!!

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Bumps
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 6:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XL

Help!!

Post by Bumps »

I can't get the letters clean on a sign I am doing. Can someone please take a look at the photo and tell me what I am doing wrong and how to sort it please

Many thanks

Bumps
Attachments
problem letters
problem letters

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10135
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Help!!

Post by Adrian »

It looks like the sides of the letters are vertical where I would be expecting them to be angled with the type of toolpath you've setup.

I personally can't tell how you've done that with those settings from a picture. It's always best to supply the file rather than a picture if possible.

Bumps
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 6:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XL

Re: Help!!

Post by Bumps »

Thanks for the response, but now I am stumped! I have only done the design on V Carve I have not yet cut it as it did not look right, so I do not know how I can send a file, unless there is a way in V Carve to do it that I don't know about :? Just trying to save wood before I make a mess of it!
Regards

Bumps

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: Help!!

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

Just attach it to your posting
I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more.

cbbo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Help!!

Post by cbbo »

You can upload the project here using the Upload Attachment button when making a post or reply. Just browse to where you saved the file from Vcarve.

Can you show us the other toolpaths? It looks like you may have another toolpath that is profile cutting the text before the vcarve is run, either that or you haven't reset the preview and its a leftover artifact of a toolpath you've deleted or changed.

Bumps
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 6:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XL

Re: Help!!

Post by Bumps »

Here is the CRV file hope it helps upps too big
Bumps

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10135
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Help!!

Post by Adrian »

You'll need to add a dropbox link or similar if it's too big to attach. If it's close on size zipping it might help.

Bumps
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 6:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XL

Re: Help!!

Post by Bumps »

Here is the link to the file

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gb9i4f9o2b4sl ... e.crv?dl=0

Hope it works

Bumps

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 679
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: Help!!

Post by gkas »

The Vcarve toolpath for the 60 vbit still has the option checked for 'Project path onto 3D model'. After I unchecked it, it looks OK.

Bumps
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 6:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XL

Re: Help!!

Post by Bumps »

Thanks very much, I will try that. Really appreciate your time and advice.

Bumps

User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 670
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger using WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Help!!

Post by SteveNelson46 »

I think you also need to add/change to a smaller clearance tool. A .25 EM won't fit into some of the smaller areas.
Last edited by SteveNelson46 on Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Steve

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10135
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Help!!

Post by Adrian »

Previewed fine for me without changing anything. Not sure what you did to get the picture you posted earlier but all I can think is you didn't clear the preview or something.

cbbo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Help!!

Post by cbbo »

I second Adrian's post - it previewed fine for me. Remember that you need to reset the preview after any toolpath change to make sure you're seeing the correct simulation.

I also noticed your v-carve toolpath has a 55 degree angle and .25" diameter set, instead of the selected tool's 60 degree .50", is that your actual tool specifications or were you changing the tool degree and diameter just to experiment with the preview?

Post Reply