First cut 2d project

The Gallery is for posting photographs and images of work machined using Cut2D
aironeous
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: HAAS

First cut 2d project

Post by aironeous »

I don't know what it is. It started out as maybe a key chain but then I had to keep scaling it up and moving the pieces away from each other so the 1/32nd could get in between them where they are separated. I had an idea this morning to engrave the Celtic prayer down the center of the raised surfaces and then the final line around the circle but I can't get cut2d to insert the text upside down and aligned within the lines. I wonder if I can just boot into linux kubuntu and use librecad and/or maybe inkscape next time to overcome the limitations in cut2d cad the next time I do a project. I got use to using the vcarvepro trial.

This is my first project using cut2d. I just bought it and photovcarve over the weekend. This is also my first time using tabs. Yeah that's purple heart wood. I got it from Mayan hardwood. I know it's kind of a waste using purple heart for an experiment but I love the way it cuts.
Attachments
13020022.jpg

Xxray
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: First cut 2d project

Post by Xxray »

Looks nice, I cut PH alot as well, though usually 3D.

Cut 2D isn't the best app for actual designing and model making, wasn't intended to be. It does excel at what it does best though, making simple 2D cuts.
Doug

aironeous
Vectric Apprentice

Post by aironeous »

Sorry I have not posted anymore projects. I filled in the above piece with bar top resin and it ended up as a nice coaster.

I have not been able to work on any projects as I have a job now and the school pretty much said I cannot make anything sellable (for profit) there so I got a temp job and they are working me 9 hours each day plus Saturday 8 and sometimes Sunday also.