Width of Oval

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
rfhall50
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built CNC

Width of Oval

Post by rfhall50 »

Been using Vectric D/T for a while, but have not run across this yet.
May be a dumb question, but here goes.......

I have an long oval that will hold a dust shoe brush: roughly 4" wide x 7" high.
Want to cut it at .33" deep (No problem) but also cut it .30 wide ... therein the rub!
I am using a .25 flat bottom mill.
How do I tell it to cut .30" wide with a .25 end mill?

Thank you in advance for the education. :oops:
Bobby
Hoping you can teach me enough so that I can help others in return.

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 5493
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Width of Oval

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi Bobby,

Create a Pocket with vectors offset to your desired width.

This assumes you’re not cutting the part out in that area.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

rfhall50
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built CNC

Re: Width of Oval

Post by rfhall50 »

Michael ...
Thank you for the reply. I just don't see where or how to set the cut width. If you can, I have included my test file. I also included a "Notes" to explain what I was doing. Basically, I tried to create the oval 3 different ways hoping to see if maybe a different option would pop up. FWIW, the notes say:
.Left: Rectangle created with radiused corners.
Center: 2 Circles then cut 1/2 off and joined with lines.
Right: Rectable then used Filet tool.
Long Rectange: Testing width needed to hold the brush backing.


Any suggestions you can offer is appreciated.

Bobby
Attachments
Test Width Cutting.crv
3 Ovals and 1 Straignt Box
(26.5 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Hoping you can teach me enough so that I can help others in return.

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Width of Oval

Post by adze_cnc »

mtylerfl wrote:
Thu Mar 04, 2021 6:54 pm
Create a Pocket with vectors offset to your desired width.
Sample file enclosed illustrating Michael's post.

Your homework: take this sample file and create a pocket toolpath using your depth, tool, and the vectors included. :D

Steven
Attachments
offset to create pocket.crv
(20.5 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

rfhall50
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built CNC

Re: Width of Oval

Post by rfhall50 »

I THINK I FINALLY UNDERSTAND THE REFERENCE TO "OFFSET"

To get a .35" wide track, i could:

1) First pocket pass as .25" (cutter width) on Center Cut.
2) Create Offset of .1" as Inside Cut.
3} Second pass cutting the .1"

Does this sound correct ?
Bobby
Hoping you can teach me enough so that I can help others in return.

rfhall50
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built CNC

Re: Width of Oval

Post by rfhall50 »

Michael and Steven: Thank you so much for the replies. Need to play with it some more, but thanks to y'all, I think I have the concept.
:D
Bobby
Hoping you can teach me enough so that I can help others in return.

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: Width of Oval

Post by gkas »

You DON'T need offset.

1. Define your pocket vector for oval (you've already done that).
2. You tool database defines Depth of Cut Per Pass for mill.
3. Define the Cut Depth in the pocket toolpath (0.33")
4. Create Pocket Toolpath.
5. Run toolpath.

Watch Pocket Toolpath Guide - 2D Toolpaths https://www.vectric.com/support/tutoria ... DToolpaths

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 5493
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Width of Oval

Post by mtylerfl »

gkas wrote:
Thu Mar 04, 2021 9:23 pm
You DON'T need offset.

1. Define your pocket vector for oval (you've already done that).
2. You tool database defines Depth of Cut Per Pass for mill.
3. Define the Cut Depth in the pocket toolpath (0.33")
4. Create Pocket Toolpath.
5. Run toolpath.

Watch Pocket Toolpath Guide - 2D Toolpaths https://www.vectric.com/support/tutoria ... DToolpaths
Hi Gerry,

He also needs a 0.3” width using a 0.25” EM - hence, the offset
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: Width of Oval

Post by gkas »

oooopppssss....... I didn't see the 0.33/0.35.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11977
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Width of Oval

Post by Adrian »

Personally I would do it by having the vectors at the correct distance rather than messing about with toolpath offsets. Lot clearer and easier to understand that way as per Michael and Stevens posts.

rfhall50
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built CNC

Re: Width of Oval

Post by rfhall50 »

Thank you to all for the responses.
Hoping you can teach me enough so that I can help others in return.

Post Reply