inlay toolpath

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Jon Grey
Model of CNC Machine: sainsmart Genmitsu PROVerXL 4030

inlay toolpath

Post by Jon Grey »

I am new to cnc, I have a Genmitsu PROVer XL 4030 machine paid about a grand for it. My goal is to inlay abalone letters about 1/2 " height into guitar neck headstock, I build guitars as a hobby and have done inlays by hand.
My issue is I cut out some beautiful abalone letters, JG -my initials, but when I cut the pocket for them they don't quite match. I use a
.6 mm dental bit (end mill) and have tried everything I can think of including adding the allowance for the pocket, changing bit sizes, using slightly larger letter size, etc. what am I doing wrong, ? it seems so straight forward.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: inlay toolpath

Post by Adrian »

In what way are they not matching? Specific places or just too big/small all over?

When you're cutting different materials especially with a bit that small you are going to run into differences of how the two materials cut which is where the allowance comes in. There's always a bit of testing needed to get the right settings.

Jon Grey

Post by Jon Grey »

Thank you for your interest, the pieces mis-match generally all over, jut outs in different places thickness of vectors different, it wants to fit but will take some difficult hand work to make it happen, as for the machining it seems extremely well done I run at a slow speed 5" per min. and the cuttting looks really good.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage

Post by Adrian »

I would suspect bit or machine deflection in that case especially with the machine you're using. They aren't the most rigid of machines.

If you could attach the file then it could be checked for any issues.

Jon Grey

Post by Jon Grey »

I will try to attach the file bu
JGPOCKET INLAY225BOLD SCRIPT.crv
(395 KiB) Downloaded 125 times