Help, please. Newbie here. Tool change in Tormach

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Randy_m
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:29 am
Model of CNC Machine: Tormach

Re: Help, please. Newbie here. Tool change in Tormach

Post by Randy_m »

[quote="Adrian"]Thinking about it a bit more can you just put an absolute move in the post processor so the z always goes to the same fixed point? You only really need a different value if you're using relative moves but you always want it to go to a point 0.5 below a known fixed point.[/quot

What would I write into the post processor? What code would it be?
Thanks a bunch Randy

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10245
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Help, please. Newbie here. Tool change in Tormach

Post by Adrian »

I don't know. As I say I used a ShopBot which has a different control language to yours.

kstrauss
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:37 am
Model of CNC Machine: Tormach PCNC770
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada

Re: Help, please. Newbie here. Tool change in Tormach

Post by kstrauss »

I'm a little late to this discussion but as a Tormach user I may be able to help. What I don't believe has been mentioned is that you need to set your G30 position (it will be saved through shutdowns). Move to wherever you want and type "G30.1" into the MDI. For an explanation see http://linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/g-c ... :g30-g30.1

You didn't mention the model of your Tormach. I use a PCNC770 with coolant which may not apply to your machine. The following is the tool change section of my post. Delete the coolant lines if not applicable.

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output at toolchange
+---------------------------------------------------

begin TOOLCHANGE

"[N](Coolant OFF)"
"[N]M09"
"[N]M05 (spindle off)"
"[N](Position for tool change)"
"[N]G30"
"[N]T[T]M6"
"[N] (Tool: [TOOLNAME])"
"[N]G43H[T]"
"[N](Coolant ON)"
"[N]M08"

I have the following lines earlier in my post:
+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output at the start of the file
+---------------------------------------------------

begin HEADER

"( [TP_FILENAME] )"
"( [DATE] - [TIME])"
"( Material Size)"
"( X= [XLENGTH], Y= [YLENGTH], Z= [ZLENGTH])"
"([FILE_NOTES])"
"(Tools in this file: )"
"([TOOLS_USED])"
"(Toolpaths in this file:)"
"([TOOLPATHS_OUTPUT])"
"[N]G00G20G17G90G40G49G80"
"[N]G91.1"
"[N](Position for tool change)"
"[N]G30"
"[N]T[T]M06"
"[N] (Tool: [TOOLNAME])"
"[N]G00G43[ZH]H[T]"
"[N](Mist coolant ON)"
"[N]M08"
"[N][S]M03"
"[N](Toolpath:- [TOOLPATH_NAME])"
"[N]([TOOLPATH_NOTES])"
"[N]G94"
"[N][XH][YH][F]"

I don't visit here too often so email me at pathpilot@pebblebeach.ca if you need further explanation.

Post Reply