Issue with cut2d pro 8.5 and different paths

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
netrate
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:14 am
Model of CNC Machine: General i-carver

Issue with cut2d pro 8.5 and different paths

Post by netrate »

I recently complete a project that had a profile path and a drill path. I SELECTED all of the paths and saved the to i-carver.nc. When I brought the file to the i-carver, it only ran the drill path. I went back and forth on this a few times, same result. On the advice of a friend, I looked at the nc file in notepad and saw that indeed it was not saving both paths.

1) I then made just the profile path and saved it - opened it up in notepad.
2) made a drill path only, saved it - opened it up in notepad.
3) Lastly, I made the file with both the drill and the profile toolpaths and opened that up in notepad. And the same issue, it was only showing either the drill path ONLY or the PROFILE path only.

The only way I fixed this issue was copying and pasting the material from one notepad to another (eliminating duplicate lines of text).

Any ideas on this?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Issue with cut2d pro 8.5 and different paths

Post by Adrian »

When you are saving the toolpaths do you have "Output all visible toolpaths to one file checked"? If not only the toolpath that is currently selected (highlighted) will be saved.

If you do have that option checked then you need to make sure that all the toolpath you want to save are visible (the checkbox next to each controls that) before saving.

You can verify what is being saved when you're in the Save toolpath form as it will display the names of the toolpaths that will be saved underneath where it says "Toolpaths to be saved..."

netrate
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:14 am
Model of CNC Machine: General i-carver

Re: Issue with cut2d pro 8.5 and different paths

Post by netrate »

Yes I check all the boxes including the one that says Output all visible toolpaths.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10253
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Issue with cut2d pro 8.5 and different paths

Post by Adrian »

Are they showing in the "Toolpaths to be saved.." list?

Post Reply