upgrade with problem

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
Dale Yeager
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Hobby laser engaver & CNC router

upgrade with problem

Post by Dale Yeager »

I have Cut2D desktop 8.0, and was working great. Now after upgrading to 8.5, I can not output any toolpaths. I get a message of no post processors installed. I tried reinstalling as suggested , but still nothing. Anybody know what is going on?

Dale Yeager
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Hobby laser engaver & CNC router

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by Dale Yeager »

Ok, Found it myself. Had to find the hidden files from 8.0 and copy them to 8.5

JimG
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Seig KX1
Location: Yate, UK

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by JimG »

Can I add to this thread? I've just downloaded the upgrade from Cut 2D Desktop V8.0 to V8.5 and when I run it, the update won't recognise that I have V8.0 installed. I have the software installed on two machines - both Win 10, 64 bit and the same problem occurs. On both machines the V8 .exe file is installed in "G:\Program Files\Cut2D Desktop 8.0\x64\Cut2DDesktop.exe". Any suggestions?

Jim.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11303
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by Adrian »

8.5 is a complete new installation not an upgrade as far as I'm aware.

JimG
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Seig KX1
Location: Yate, UK

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by JimG »

Adrian wrote:8.5 is a complete new installation not an upgrade as far as I'm aware.
That's what I thought when I logged on to the web site with my main PC and read the upgrade details. But when I went to my other PC, which I use for email, and accessed the download page again on the web site, I was offered the option to download an update to 8.5, which I did, and that's what I ran. I had used this same PC for another download of the V8.0 software from their secure site a few months ago and I wonder if I somehow got access to a web page I shouldn't have. :D I'll go and follow the upgrade path for the full .exe file. :D

Jim.

Jim.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11303
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by Adrian »

What you might have downloaded is one of the updates to 8.5 rather than 8.5 itself. The download page on the main website only has those rather than the full version installs which are only available via the portal website.

User avatar
Mark
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark, ShopBot, Roland PNC3000
Location: Alcester U.K.
Contact:

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by Mark »

Hello JimG,
I've just downloaded the upgrade from Cut 2D Desktop V8.0 to V8.5
As Adrian has mentioned, there is no upgrade program from version 8.0 to version 8.5,
the update program that can be downloaded from the Program Updates page of the website,
only updates v8.5x
If you have not yet updated to any version of 8.5, the latest version of 8.5 can be downloaded from your
Vectric Portal account page.

If are having problems with this, please drop us an email to support.

JimG
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Seig KX1
Location: Yate, UK

Re: upgrade with problem

Post by JimG »

All sorted thanks to Mark.

Jim.

Post Reply