Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
sterob
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia

Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by sterob »

I have only been learning CNC for a couple of years and just use it for hobby work at home. I have a Chinese 6040 Router.
In that time I have been using Cut2D 1.5.
I see that Cut2D Desktop 8.5 seems to have taken over from my software.

In your opinion, is it a good move to upgrade to the new 8.5 software? The only drawback I can see is the size restriction, but I don't think that will affect me.
Any other reasons not to?
Steve

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 5263
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by martin54 »

Steve, don't run cut 2d myself (started with it but upgraded to Vcarve pro because my needs changed) but the best way to tell if it would be a good move for yourself is to download the trial version & see for yourself, the upgrade price I believe depends if you go for the desktop or pro version, the pro version doesn't have the size restriction plus it has some other features like being able to use gadgets & nesting.

This link will tell you what is new in 8.5 but really the best way is to download it & take it for a test drive :lol: :lol:

http://www.vectric.com/products/cut2d/WhatsNew8.html

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11310
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by Adrian »

8.5 is a huge upgrade compared to 1.5, many more features and drawing tools.

sterob
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia

Re: Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by sterob »

Thanks Guys. I've read all the blurb but I find it hard to determine what features I will need.
If 8.5 is a natural progression, I think I will do the upgrade.

Steve

User avatar
JamesB
Vectric Alumni
Posts: 1257
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Exel CNC SL60/90 Pro
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Re: Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by JamesB »

Hi Steve,
As Martin said, your best bet is to download the trial version and spend some time working with it to see what it will offer you before you pay for the upgrade. That way you can be sure it's beneficial to what you use the software for.

Trial can be downloaded from this page:
http://www.vectric.com/products/cut2d/trial.html

Cheers
James

sterob
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: X6-1500GT re-built with ESS and MB2
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia

Re: Upgrade from Cut2D 1.5 to Cut2D Desktop 8.5?

Post by sterob »

Thanks lads. I just found out that its a free upgrade..woo hoo!
I guess, as long as the size restriction isn''t a problem ( don't think so ) then any improvements will make it worth while doing.

Steve

Post Reply