Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 13582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Adrian »

When you double click the clipart installer it will display where the clipart is installed as part of the installation process. Typically it's Public Documents/Vectric Files/Clipart and a sub-folder from there depending on the product.

Where the installer file is put when you download it depends on what browser you're using and how you've set it up. Typically downloads go into the main Downloads folder and you can execute the installer from there.

pviljoen
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 9:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AvidCNC

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by pviljoen »

Rcnewcomb wrote:
Thu Feb 17, 2022 8:22 pm
You can use your favorite search engine and type in:
furniture site:forum.vectric.com
to search the forum for more specific keywords such as furniture

Look at the advanced search features on your favorite internet search engine for additional features. For example this looks for cherry and chair but excludes results with walnut:
chair cherry -walnut site:forum.vectric.com
Thanks Great feedback as usual. I will definitely give it a try with all the various suggestions. Thanks

gldfshrdr150
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2022 1:05 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home built MACH3

Why is Import bitmap greyed out?

Post by gldfshrdr150 »

Hi. I just purchased Cut2d Desktop because I could import bit maps. But the import drop down has it greyed out. Do I need to do something else? I also use other software.

Thanks.......dt

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 13582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Why is Import bitmap greyed out?

Post by Adrian »

gldfshrdr150 wrote:
Mon Jul 04, 2022 3:41 pm
Hi. I just purchased Cut2d Desktop because I could import bit maps. But the import drop down has it greyed out. Do I need to do something else? I also use other software.
Bitmaps are imported by using the bitmap import icon on Drawing tool tab or the menu "File/Import.../Import Bitmap..." option.

In both cases you need to have created a new file or loaded one. You can't start a file/job by importing a bitmap.
Attachments
bitmaps.jpg

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by adze_cnc »

This question would probably better be asked in the “Cut2D - General” area of the forum.

But since we’re here... Try invoking the “Import Bitmap” not with the menu but by using the keyboard shortcut: Ctrl+I

This will at least let us see if that option is active as I’m not too sure what “it” is greyed out in "But the import drop down has it greyed out."

gldfshrdr150
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2022 1:05 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home built MACH3

Bitmap import greyed out

Post by gldfshrdr150 »

How do I get to the drawing tool screen? When I start the program, I get a left side drop down with actions but no drawing tool screen.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 13582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Bitmap import greyed out

Post by Adrian »

gldfshrdr150 wrote:
Mon Jul 04, 2022 7:08 pm
How do I get to the drawing tool screen? When I start the program, I get a left side drop down with actions but no drawing tool screen.
You have to start a new job/file. When you first start the program it's expecting you to load a file or start a new one (look at the Startup Taks section). Until you've done either of those you won't see the full set of menus and toolbars.

You would best to start with the Tutorial Browser on the startup screen though and work your way through the tutorials. You're going to get frustrated very quickly if you just try to dive in without understanding the basics.

gldfshrdr150
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2022 1:05 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home built MACH3

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by gldfshrdr150 »

Good call. I guess I'll start there.

Syndicateknives
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2021 5:27 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko pro xxl

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Syndicateknives »

I purchased Vcarve Pro v11 I currently have version 11.016.. I have tried numerous times over several days to update to the new 11.5 and every time i try, it tells me I have the most current version. I have tried downloading directly from the site and it says my software is up to date. Am i not eligible?

gregk
Vectric Staff
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: None

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by gregk »

Syndicateknives wrote:
Fri Oct 14, 2022 6:36 am
I purchased Vcarve Pro v11 I currently have version 11.016.. I have tried numerous times over several days to update to the new 11.5 and every time i try, it tells me I have the most current version. I have tried downloading directly from the site and it says my software is up to date. Am i not eligible?
Hello Syndicateknives,
Anyone with V11 is eligible for a free upgrade to V11.5. The new version is not a patch, but a standalone installation, hence the software says you're up to date. You can download the V11.5 installer from your V&Co account.
Hope this helps,
Greg K

Post Reply