Dog and River Scenery

The Gallery is for posting images of work machined using Cut3D
Randy B
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:51 am

Dog and River Scenery

Post by Randy B »

This came out real nice!

Cut3D is awesome!

Started with a 1.75" thick piece of cedar.
Double sided tape and 4 screws for my hold down.
7" x 8" x 1.5" total cut time = 6 hours
1/4" EM roughing, 1/16" BN finishing No slicing

Finished with Golden Pecan stain, no sanding...straight off the shopbot.

Randy
Attachments
RIMG2767.JPG
RIMG2763.JPG
RIMG2759.JPG
RIMG2758.JPG
RIMG2750.JPG

User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Tony Mac »

Very impressive Randy and Thanks for posting the photo's.

Tony

Randy B
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:51 am

Post by Randy B »

Thanks Tony.

User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2404
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Post by Phil »

That's very nice.

mcurtis
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:18 am
Location: Maine, USA

Post by mcurtis »

Very nice Randy. As a fellow lab admirer, do you mind sharing where you found the model?

Thanks for sharing
Maynard

Frank_74
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Frank_74 »

Hello,
mcurtis wrote:Very nice Randy. As a fellow lab admirer, do you mind sharing where you found the model?

Thanks for sharing
Maynard
Have a look here.

Have a nice Day, Frank
You do not like my bad spelling?

Come and write in a "German-Forum".

User avatar
3dmodelclub
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by 3dmodelclub »

Nice Work Randy.

Thanks for sharing and you nice comments.

Tom
www.3dmodelclub.com

DougO
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Mississippi

Post by DougO »

Can this model be cut with Vcarve Pro or does it have to be Cut3d?

thanks

User avatar
Thkoutsidthebox
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Europe

Post by Thkoutsidthebox »

I imagine the depth would be too great to cut it with VCP. However, if you have Cut3D, and you slice the model, I'm sure you can then import the slices into VCP individually to cut in VCP....but theres not much point to that which I can see... :roll:

knighttoolworks
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:19 am
Model of CNC Machine: shobot 48x96
Location: portland oregon
Contact:

Post by knighttoolworks »

how did you cut that deep with a 1/16" bit?
I have a fairy I want to cut but the depth is 1.25" and thats pretty long for smaller bits.

User avatar
Thkoutsidthebox
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Europe

Post by Thkoutsidthebox »

If you slice a 1.25" model in Cut3D into 5 slices, each slice will be .25" thick.

User avatar
AngelicDiablo
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:46 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot BT48 Standard
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by AngelicDiablo »

These bits work great for deep 3D cutting. OAL is 3".

http://www.beckwithdecor.com/index_files/Cutters.htm

-AD :twisted:
Buckle up... it makes it harder for the aliens to suck you out of your car! :-)

User avatar
AngelicDiablo
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:46 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot BT48 Standard
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by AngelicDiablo »

These bits work great for deep cutting. OAL is 3".

http://www.beckwithdecor.com/index_files/Cutters.htm

-AD :twisted:
Buckle up... it makes it harder for the aliens to suck you out of your car! :-)

Randy B
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:51 am

Post by Randy B »

These are the cutters I've been using for 3D work.

http://www.beckwithdecor.com/index_files/Cutters.htm

RB

ccamember
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:00 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc shark

Re: Dog and River Scenery

Post by ccamember »

That is very nice work. I would love to be able to do that. I love my Labs.

Post Reply