machining boundaries?

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
Post Reply
jram
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

machining boundaries?

Post by jram »

Hello all, new here. How do I go about making sure that I am not machining area that does not need to be machined? For example, I am cutting out a simple spoon and the toolpath keeps cutting material that does not need to be cut outside the path of the spoon. I also use other software and we have a "do not machine horizontal or vertical ambient" button. What it the equivalent in cut 3D? Thanks

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: machining boundaries?

Post by adze_cnc »

Been a long time since I used Cut3D:

look for "Use Model Silhouette" in the help file. I think that's what you need.

jram
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: machining boundaries?

Post by jram »

vectric2.png
first
first

I have attached images of my settings. I checked sillhouette and now it's only machining the inside. Not sure what is wrong

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: machining boundaries?

Post by adze_cnc »

I presume those measurements are in millimetres. The value for "Symmetrical" is 0.5 which to me is 1/2 of a millimetre. As you are cutting with 1/4" (6.35mm) bit try a value for symmetrical of 7 or greater (if 0.5 was 1/2" you could use 12)

jram
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: machining boundaries?

Post by jram »

Thank you! I can’t believe I missed that detail, working great now!

Post Reply