Is CUT3D right for me?

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
injunear
Model of CNC Machine: Seig (HF) CNC Mini Mill

Is CUT3D right for me?

Post by injunear »

Hi there.
A brief introduction. I've been using CUT2D for a few years on my CNC Router and am quite fluent cutting 2D parts. I now want to make parts on my Harbor Freight CNC mill. I have one part in mind (shown in the photo below) and want some information regarding whether or not this is the right application for my needs.

I should say that the fidelity to the part outline should be close and within reason. The shape of the part is not 90^ and there's a critical angle that needs to be maintained.

My first question would be:
1) Referring to the photo below, would this be a 2 sided part or a 4 sided part?
2) Assuming you have more experience than I with CUT3D, how would you orient the part in the body of the material to cut it efficiently?
3) How critical is the dimension of the stock it is to be cut from? If it's not perfectly square on all 4 sides will that cause error in the part after relocating and “flipping”?
Anything I should know that you know from your experience having cut some parts that I should know?

4) When I hear the term "flipping the part" how am I to do that? Taking the bottom edge of the part and rotating to the top? How about the two remaining sides (assuming 4 sided cutting)? I haven't found any videos that are clear in part orientation while cutting other than the initial setting.

Thanks much,
Bob T.

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine

Re: Is CUT3D right for me?

Post by LittleGreyMan »

Hi,

Difficult to answer as we require much more information:

-what is the size of the part?
-what material?
-is it a finished part? a foundry pattern? Can it be hold by screws, and can you fill them after machining?
-it's difficult to evaluate undercuts without a 3D model

machining precision is another story