Cant set depth below surface

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
Post Reply
DougE
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc Shark- -other

Cant set depth below surface

Post by DougE »

I took a model and split it into 2 inch slices.

I opened one of the slices and set it to be sliced into 1 inch slices.

I opened up one of the one inch slices (the top piece) and ran the roughing tool paths etc..

I opened up the second 1 inch file and set the material thickness to 2 inches.

I want the cutting to start 1 inch down from the surface. It only allows me to set this value at .99 (??) I don't understand why it won't allow 1 inch

**Just so you follow along.. My material will be 2 inches ACTUAL depth.-- I split this into TWO 1 inch slices.--- I want to run the top slice first--- I then want to load the second file and have it cut starting 1 inch below the top---

Do I need to change Z in my cnc to be -1.00 inches and change rapid clearance to 1.25 inches ? Won't this add a lot of extra time to the cutting ?

Thank you again

DougE

DougE
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc Shark- -other

Re: Cant set depth below surface

Post by DougE »

Sorry,... Disregard question(s)

I'm not visualizing this correctly.

What I thought made sense to try does not make sense at all. (Material would still be present when setting second cut)

Apology for your time

DougE

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Cant set depth below surface

Post by Leo »

Having a little trouble understanding the post, but it sounds like you are trying to do something with slicing that slicing is not designed to do.

Slicing would mean that you want to make something 2" thick, but you only have 1" thick material. You would use the 1" material and make 2 pieces that are 1" thick - then glue the 2 pieces together to make the 2" thick part you want.

There is an excellent tutorial on slicing - 3rd one down from the top.
http://support.vectric.com/training-material/cut3d

The tutorial is a FAR better explanation that we could do here on the forum
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

DougE
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc Shark- -other

Re: Cant set depth below surface

Post by DougE »

Thank you Leo for your time and advice.

It's been awhile since I've run cut3d. I'm trying to run an industrial vacuum through the cobwebs that have formed in my head over that time.

Happily, I'm down to the finer layer of dust which was beneath the cobwebs.

Again, Thank you for your time

DougE

Post Reply