Trouble converting Solidworks to Cut3D

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
jtcdudeman

Trouble converting Solidworks to Cut3D

Post by jtcdudeman »

Im a newbie here and to the CNC world in general. I am trying to make a cutting board for my mother for Christmas and have spent about 2 hours today trying to accomplish this. But, Im having some issues and Im not sure where it is coming from, how to correct it, or even where to begin. Im going to break it down into what I've done so far.

Step 1: Find suitable drawing of pig for cutting board.

Step 2: Import pic into Solidworks. Using the autotrace feature, I was able to rough trace the picture. I then spent 30 minutes cleaning it up making the vectors smoother.

Step 3: Build solidworks 3D model from 2d drawing.

Step 4: Save model as STL format.

Step 5: Import into Cut3D.

Step 6: Use Cut3D to program Gcode.

Once I got my 3d Model imported into Cut3D, I noticed one side was rough looking for a few seconds and then it went away. I assumed it was because the computer was slow and importing the model (solidworks was slow with the complexity of the drawing too).

Once everything cleared up, everything looked good. I proceeded with creating the tool paths and calculated everything out. Once I got to the preview stage, I noticed I had lost the fillets on one side of the model. The fillets are the whole reason I went through the trouble of using Cut3D and making a 3D model in solidworks instead of just using cut2D

How do I fix this, where did I go wrong?

attached a jpg of cut3d preview.
Attachments
pig cutout.jpg

ssflyer
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRSAlpha 96x60

Re: Trouble converting Solidworks to Cut3D

Post by ssflyer »

I'm not sure why you lost the one edge, but here are some observations:
This would take way more time as a 3d carving than simply doing profile toolpaths, and using a roundover bit.