Using a mill as a lathe

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
Post Reply
Mofosheee
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 3:07 pm

Using a mill as a lathe

Post by Mofosheee »

Hello Forum

I have a 4 axis CNC mill and am wondering If anybody has used Vectric soft ware to use a lathe as a mill? Thank you

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4791
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Using a mill as a lathe

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Can you explain a little more about what you want to do?
Do you just want movement in Z and (X orY)?
What material will you be cutting?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Mofosheee
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Using a mill as a lathe

Post by Mofosheee »

Thanks for responding
I want to mill a motorcycle spool/hub on the 4th axis of my CNC mill. The material would be 7075 T6 Al. Length 4" diameter 3"
In my world I see x and z axis.
Thanks again!
Attachments
Spool wheel.jpg

Post Reply