Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

Postby solodotcom » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:23 pm

Using Vcarve Pro, I'm trying to design a clock face and am having some difficulty getting the numbers spaced out correctly around a circle. Using the text box I typed the numbers from 1 - 12 with a space between each number. I then created a circle and aligned the text to the circle and havent' been able to keep the 12 and the 1 from touching as the numbers are spaced out around the circle. Really new to Vcarve. Thanks for your suggestions.
Steve
solodotcom
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:14 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA

Postby 10cop » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:02 pm

hello,

Here just my personnal experience.

I start like you and then convert text to curve.
I move each letter manually to get the result I want.


Maybe someone have a better - quiker idea ! ?
bye
I had own a land rover, I use Vcarve but I speak english like a French guy, please apology.
10cop
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:35 pm
Location: france

Postby Greasetattoo » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:40 pm

Use the copy along vectors button!
Search for it in the help section!

Works like a charm!!!
User avatar
Greasetattoo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota

Postby RickD » Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:56 pm

I would make a circle the size you want the number to fit in ,then copy the vectors 11 times and then put the numbers in and delete the circles.
RickD
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Danvers,Ma

Postby knighttoolworks » Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:20 pm

RickD wrote:I would make a circle the size you want the number to fit in ,then copy the vectors 11 times and then put the numbers in and delete the circles.

this is the best method it works very well.
knighttoolworks
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:19 am
Location: portland oregon
Model of CNC Machine: shobot 48x96

Postby Greasetattoo » Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:02 am

Copy along vectors is the correct way to do it, and the probably the easiest.

It would space your numbers perfectly..
Believe me!
Give it a try....




Do illiterate people get the full effect of Alphabet Soup?
User avatar
Greasetattoo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota

Postby olf20 » Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:56 am

Hi all, hope everone is doing well!!
I've been wondering how to do this also.
I just tried doing it the way Geasetatto described.
It works GREAT!!
Soooooo easy with just a few minutes of practice.
Thanks!!
olf20
olf20
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:03 am
Location: NW Ill

Postby moto633 » Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:35 am

I like soup.

Hey did any one check out the dial Grease did?

Seems like that would be the way to go....... But how would you keep the numbers vertical?

Nick
moto633
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Rockbridge, Ohio

Postby Greasetattoo » Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:25 pm

Hey Nick and all,

Well, there is a answer for that one too!..

Just uncheck the "align vectors to curve" and that should keep them vertical!

Man, Vectric has an answer for everything, almost...





Why is the man who invests all your money called a broker?
User avatar
Greasetattoo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota

Postby solodotcom » Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:50 pm

Thanks for the help! Is there a manual that just goes over each feature of the program with maybe some examples?
solodotcom
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:14 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA

Postby Greasetattoo » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:48 pm

Ummm, maybe the help file, located on the top menu!
User avatar
Greasetattoo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota

Re: Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

Postby hoops10 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:55 pm

I know this thread is old but I cannot seem to get the clock numbers to align correctly. I have tried the 'Copy Along Vectors" button but with no luck. I want to create a clock that is 20" in diameter with an inner ring of 15". I then want the numbers to be attached to both rings (because they will be essentially cut out so the rings will be holding them in place.) I create two circles, one with a radius of 10" and then other with a radius of 7.5". I then create a text box and type all the numbers (12 to 11, putting a space between them.) Here is where I am stuck. I have tried 'Copy Along Vectors" but it just makes a bunch of copies of all the numbers I typed in along the inner circle, thus looking like chaos. I guess I want to grab the numbers I have and 'bend' them along the inner circle. I have been messing with this for hours, please help. Thanks.
hoops10
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

Postby dwilli9013 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 5:06 pm

Look up the buttons and their usage in the help file. Also watch the attached screen shot tutorial. These two will get you where you need to be.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

Re: Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

Postby highpockets » Sat Jul 22, 2017 5:52 pm

Hoops10,

Try this thread. You need to break the numbers up and position each one.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=26826&p=193086#p193086
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Clock Face - Spacing the numbers around a circle

Postby hoops10 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:28 pm

Posted before I saw some replies, my bad. I used Bill's method and it seems to have worked. Another question though, is there any way to align the numbers of the clock onto the inner circle curve? That way I can offset them as much as needed? If I try to use Text on a Curve, it just takes the number and places in at the bottom of the curve, very frustrating. Thanks.
Last edited by hoops10 on Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
hoops10
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Next

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests