mach 3-smooth stepper running out of data..???

mach 3-smooth stepper running out of data..???

Postby Sawman101 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:18 pm

hey folks, i have had my cnc router machines stop in the middle of a project many times. the router and/or spindle will keep running but machine stops in a random place.
there is usually a white screen that comes up and says something about smooth stepper running out of data.
my question is, how can i safely restart the process from where it stopped so i dont lose the time and material involved? i have restarted several times with success
but not quite sure what i did. i have also crashed several tools trying to restart as well. did i mention i have had minimal training with these machines/software?
thanks for any help!
Sawman101
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: mach 3-smooth stepper running out of data..???

Postby Adrian » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:28 pm

Try this. It sounds like the issue you're having - https://warp9td.com/index.php/faq/faq-m ... nOutOfData

If you're not familiar with setting up PC's for CNC software use the most likely scenario is that you have some other processes running like screensavers etc that shouldn't be. That link explains all the things you need to check.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9588
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: mach 3-smooth stepper running out of data..???

Postby mickecarlsson » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:40 am

I used to have that also.
Two things that casued this was:
Heat. My smoothstepper is connected to a GeckoDrive G450, and that got hot. A fan that pushed air under the geckodrive fixed that.
Changing feed rate above 100% while running. That is a big no-no.
From their FAQ:
With Mach3, NEVER run your Feed Rate Override above 100%, only use it to slow down your feedrate. If you want to go faster, regenerate your G-Code from your CAD/CAM software. Running your FRO above 100% will cause jerkiness and misshaped circles.

Make sure that you run Mach3 version 3.043.062
mickecarlsson
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:18 pm
Location: Skane, Sweden
Model of CNC Machine: CNC 6040, Vectric Aspire

Re: mach 3-smooth stepper running out of data..???

Postby Sawman101 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:01 pm

thanks guys
Sawman101
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest