Distort Selected Objects

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby tjimholte » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:58 pm

Thanks for all the help everyone but I am still dead in the water on this one. I tried the ungroup and that didn't make a difference.

It shows on the screen NOT greyed out but still says not valid. I get it to work with text (although it turns the text upside down) but having a heck of a time properly selecting the clip art.

Any other thought?
tjimholte
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 10:07 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby Bob Jr » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:03 pm

TJ,
I'm getting the same lack of results as you.
I even tried holding a rubber chicken over the keyboard, but nothing has worked so far.
We're talking about using VCarve Pro, right?
Bob
hammer...nails...stuff
User avatar
Bob Jr
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby SteveNelson46 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:13 pm

I used Aspire V9 and I don't have V-Carve so I really can't test it.
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Carvewright

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby Adrian » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:20 pm

Now that's interesting. I have both and what works in Aspire doesn't work in VCarve 9. No matter what I do I can't distort a 3D component in VCarve despite the Help saying I should be able to do so.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7422
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby tjimholte » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:37 pm

Adrian and Bob, thanks for validating that I'm not crazy!

I only have VCarve9 Desktop not Pro. I don't have a rubber chick but my cat walks across my keyboard helping from time to time :D
tjimholte
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 10:07 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby martin54 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:59 am

Like some of the others I had originally used Aspire V9 as I didn't think there was any difference between the 2 programs for the distort tool, I have now tried it in Vcarve 8.5 (don't have vcarve 9) & it doesn't seem to work in that either so not something that is new to vcarve 9 :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby highpockets » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:31 am

martin54 wrote:Like some of the others I had originally used Aspire V9 as I didn't think there was any difference between the 2 programs for the distort tool, I have now tried it in Vcarve 8.5 (don't have vcarve 9) & it doesn't seem to work in that either so not something that is new to vcarve 9 :lol: :lol:


I'm feeling much better, I tried it in VCP 8.5 (don't have 9) and didn't have any luck either. I figured it was an enhancement to VCP9 so I kept my mouth shut :lol: :lol: :lol: . In Aspire it's a piece of cake....
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby gkas » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:04 am

I tried it in my test version of Aspire and it worked. It does not work for me in 9.01 of VCarve Pro.
gkas
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby mohamed » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:03 am

Hello everyone,

Distorting components is an Aspire-only feature.

We found a small glitch in the documentation which may have been the cause of this mess and we're fixing that, so apologies for any confusion that caused.

See the comparison PDF here for the differences between the products http://www.vectric.com/media/docs/products/compare/Cut2D-VCarve-Aspire-Compare.pdf.

Thanks

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby tjimholte » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:24 pm

Thanks Mohamed,

You are 100% correct. My ops manual says I can distort a component so I tired to do it and when I couldn't I came to this group.

I was wondering how to elevate it to Vectric and was headed to Rockler today to ask them. Looks like problem solved.

Do you or someone from Vectric monitor thing like this or did someone somehow bring it to your attention? Just curious.

Thanks again,

TJ
tjimholte
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 10:07 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD4

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby martin54 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:15 am

tjimholte wrote:Thanks Mohamed,

You are 100% correct. My ops manual says I can distort a component so I tired to do it and when I couldn't I came to this group.

I was wondering how to elevate it to Vectric and was headed to Rockler today to ask them. Looks like problem solved.

Do you or someone from Vectric monitor thing like this or did someone somehow bring it to your attention? Just curious.

Thanks again,

TJ



Vectric staff do monitor the forum & on occasion will post a reply as Mohamed has done here but I think generally they try & leave the forum questions to other software users.
You also get the beta testers bringing things to Vectrics attention in the Beta test group just in case they have not seen something posted on the forum :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Distort Selected Objects

Postby mohamed » Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:18 pm

tjimholte wrote:Thanks Mohamed,

You are 100% correct. My ops manual says I can distort a component so I tired to do it and when I couldn't I came to this group.

I was wondering how to elevate it to Vectric and was headed to Rockler today to ask them. Looks like problem solved.

Do you or someone from Vectric monitor thing like this or did someone somehow bring it to your attention? Just curious.

Thanks again,

TJ


As Martin said, the support department monitor the forum and will relay it to development if they think it's a bug.

You can always email support@vectric.com with the issue and a link to the forum post if your issue is still not resolved or it's a bug, etc..

In this particular case, it was Brian that brought it to my attention.

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------
mohamed
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Previous

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sseale and 26 guests