Ramping into a pocket

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro

Ramping into a pocket

Postby Wdp67 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:11 am

Hey all!! Thanks for helping me on my earlier post about Mach3. Finally making some real parts, and trying to use the ramping feature in a pocket. I can't seem to get it to work, can someone walk me thru it? Basically what I am trying to do is face of my workpiece, but I need the tool to not plunge straight down into my material. I got it to work once by accident, but can't for the life of me remember how I did it.

Thanks!!

Walt
Wdp67
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:44 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040Z-DQ

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Bob CVA » Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:22 am

After selecting Pocket tool path, check the box that says you would like to consider advanced options. I believe it is in the upper most box.

About two thirds of the way down the menu there should be a box that allows you to ramp plunge moves. It can be selected, and will ask you the distance over which you would like to plunge.

I think that is what you are looking for.
Bob CVA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot PRS 48x96

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Wdp67 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:26 am

Yes that's it but when I do it, it doesn't ramp, it still just plunges strait down into the material.
Wdp67
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:44 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040Z-DQ

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby FixitMike » Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:44 am

Did you Recalculate Toolpaths and then save the new toolpath?
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Wdp67 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:15 pm

Yes sir, I tried it several times, looked at the code and there was no ramping. Late last night I shut my computer down and restarted. When I tried it again it worked. I'm not sure what was going on, but I did get it to work.

Thanks for your help!
Wdp67
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:44 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040Z-DQ

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:56 pm

I have done all that was mentioned in this post and I'm still getting no ramping in a pocket tool path. cutting a 3/4" pocket with a 1/4"bit 1/4" deep. set rampimg to 4" distance when i check the toolpath in 3d view no ramp. Please help.
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby martin54 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:16 pm

Can you post a couple of screenshots of how you have it set up as that will help the board experts doesn the wireframe toolpath view not show the ramp ??
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:26 pm

It was working yesterday just fine and I changed my material size from 4x8 to 5x5 once I recalculated and saved the toolpath and ran the part, no ramp.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:34 pm

hopefully that is what your looking for. Thank you so much for the help.
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:52 pm

I tried copying the vectors to a new file and starting the toolpath process from scratch and stillno ramp. then i just drew a rectangle and toolpathed that as a pocket and the ramp shows up
there so that tells me its something to do with my file
Attachments
Capture-1.JPG
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:02 pm

now I've tried removing the fillets no luck. then I tried to offset the whole thing outward 1" and still no ramp. weird!
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:06 pm

here is the file
Attachments
THOMAS-BOX1-2-5X5-SHT-1.crv3d
(132.5 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:09 pm

sorry not the same one i was sending shots of but this one is doing the same thing
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:31 pm

Now I changed the bit to a 1/2" and the ramp shows up which is really the bit I should be using I know but anyway I changed back to the 1/4" bit and changed the step-over to 80% and that did it! Hopefully all this is helpful to someone down the line.
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Re: Ramping into a pocket

Postby Travishuffman » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:12 pm

Has anyone looked at this file and saw the same problem I did? Just curious.
Travishuffman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:15 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Sabre 4814

Next

Return to VCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: greggph, Hwyhobo and 22 guests