X axis Problems

X axis Problems

Postby nywoodworker » Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:27 pm

I have a cnc router the name of the company I purchased it from is Industrial CNC. I have had a few problems in the past and have figured them out. The problem that I have now is with the X axis. It works fine until it moves about 3 feet left to right on the gantry. At this point The gantry stops. Always at the same point of travel. I have checked the gears, motor and slides. I have removed the motor of the x axis it turns in both directions.

Now this makes no scene to me the motor,not attached to anything, turns freely that would move the gantry to the left. If I switch direction, movement to the right, it turns freely but after several seconds , maybe longer, it stops turning. The motor is NOT attached to anything and it still stops when it turns , from what would be left to right.

I can manually move the X gantry either left or right with nothing binding in either direction. I can use the cnc and it works but I can not use the full travel of the x axis. Attached are the specs of my machine. Does anyone have an idea of what maybe happening. I have also switched the cables of the x and y axis. With the y cable controlling the x axis the problem still remains . the x gantry stops at the same point of travel.
Dave


Active Transit /Cutting speeds 900/700 IPM
Mechanical home switches
R and P on X and Y Drives, Ball Screw on z axis
Power 220
Anti Backlash
Router Features Specifications
Table Size 52" x 52"
X,Y,Z Working Area 49" x 49" x 12"
X,Y,Z, Traveling Position Accuracy +/- .002"
Frame Structure Steel
X.Y Structure Anti backlash Rack and Pinion
Z Structure Orbital Ball Screw
Max Speed 0-900 IPM
Max Working Speed 0-700 IPM
Spindle Power Motor High Frequency Conversion Water Cooled Motor
Working Mode 24000r/min
Working Voltage AC220V
Command Includes MACH controller, G Code, dxf
Interface PC
XY Working Tolerance < 0.02mm
Software Mach3, Type3 full function 3d
nywoodworker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC Router Apprentice 404

Re: X axis Problems

Postby mezalick » Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:49 pm

Dave,
I don't have Mach3, I have WINCNC but for me I can set the size of the work surface ( table top )
Maybe yours is set to a smaller size than what you really have.
It's just a guess.
Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: X axis Problems

Postby Leo » Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:58 pm

It sorta sounds like you have isolated the problem to the motor.

I assume it is a stepper motor.

Even though it turns freely, that does not mean it is problem free.

Either the "X" or the "Y" axis controls to the same motor and the problem remains.

The stepper motor is most likely bad.

If the machine is new - call the seller and see if it is under warranty

If not under warranty - changing a stepper is not expensive and not hard to do.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: X axis Problems

Postby nywoodworker » Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:13 pm

Leo,
I'm not really sure why would the motor always stop at the same point of travel. I have also thought it could be a wiring problem . I switched x and Y cables but maybe a cable could be bad.?
Leo wrote:It sorta sounds like you have isolated the problem to the motor.

I assume it is a stepper motor.

Even though it turns freely, that does not mean it is problem free.

Either the "X" or the "Y" axis controls to the same motor and the problem remains.

The stepper motor is most likely bad.

If the machine is new - call the seller and see if it is under warranty

If not under warranty - changing a stepper is not expensive and not hard to do.
nywoodworker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC Router Apprentice 404

Re: X axis Problems

Postby nywoodworker » Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:18 pm

mesalick
I will take a look. The machines are so touchy
Dave
mezalick wrote:Dave,
I don't have Mach3, I have WINCNC but for me I can set the size of the work surface ( table top )
Maybe yours is set to a smaller size than what you really have.
It's just a guess.
Michael
nywoodworker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC Router Apprentice 404

Re: X axis Problems

Postby armbrusterco » Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:44 am

Are you using using a "reference all" to home the machine when you first start it up? Do the machine coordinates and job coordinates look correct and make sense when you do that?

I also have mach3. On one occasion I forgot to reference all and the y axis would move up to but not move past a certain location. Turned out that the mach3 thought the machine was at machine coordinate 0 on that axis. Mach3 can keep the last reference coordinates after a shut down and restart.

Just a thought.
Bob Armbruster
www.ArmbrusterCo.com
armbrusterco
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Lake Barrington, IL
Model of CNC Machine: Roland MDX-40A

Re: X axis Problems

Postby armbrusterco » Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:54 am

Some other ideas ---

Could something be interfering with and triggering a limit switch on the X axis when it reaches the location that it stops?

Could your mach3 soft limits be stopping the X axis movement?

Could mach3 be operating in an alternate coordinate system like G55, G56, G57, etc. that is running into soft limits?
Bob Armbruster
www.ArmbrusterCo.com
armbrusterco
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Lake Barrington, IL
Model of CNC Machine: Roland MDX-40A

Re: X axis Problems

Postby nywoodworker » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:45 pm

armbrusterco wrote:Some other ideas ---I checked the limits . Nothing seems out of norm. Also referenced the machine coordinates. I have removed the motor and all the gears from the gantry. The problem is still their. I manually pushed the x axis past the area that stops. The last 12 inches or so on the x axis works. When I go right to left the same area of the x travel stops. Once i push the gantry past the problem area it begins to work ?????

Could something be interfering with and triggering a limit switch on the X axis when it reaches the location that it stops?

Could your mach3 soft limits be stopping the X axis movement?

Could mach3 be operating in an alternate coordinate system like G55, G56, G57, etc. that is running into soft limits?
nywoodworker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC Router Apprentice 404

Re: X axis Problems

Postby nywoodworker » Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:23 pm

Problem solved.. I switched the wire at the motor with the z axis. Using the z for x control. My x axis travels the entire distance. I did it 3 times in both directions. Now I need to replace the wire....
How nice it feels to have a problem solved. Thanks for the help...
nywoodworker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC Router Apprentice 404


Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests