Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.

Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Postby jaru-eri » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:53 am

User avatar
jaru-eri
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:11 am
Location: Norway
Model of CNC Machine: Taig and router, Gecko G540, Mach3

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Postby Rcnewcomb » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:09 am

That should be adequate.
- Randall Newcomb
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3505
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Postby steve323 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:52 pm

I use a similar probe and it works great with Mach3. There are routines on the web for the algorithm. I modified the routine to print the amount of Z-height change. Back to back Z-height calibrations will typically be less than 0.001" on my machine.

If your spindle is grounded, then you don't need to use the red clip. Or at least I don't have to use the clip.

Steve
steve323
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homebuilt kit

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Postby KMoffett » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:56 am

Interesting...no indication of the height accuracy: "Size: approx. 3.5 x 2cm/ 1.38 x 0.79inch (D x H) "
Maybe I'm just used to real accuracy in height sensors.

Ken
KMoffett
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Milltronics VKM4

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Postby steve323 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:27 am

The height accuracy is not an issue after it is calibrated for your machine. It becomes a constant that gets subtracted during the calibration routine.

Steve
steve323
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homebuilt kit


Return to PhotoVCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests