size of carve in trial version

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.

size of carve in trial version

Postby cargo115 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:59 pm

Hey everyone. I have downloaded the trial version of PhotoVcarve to see if I like it. I must be doing something wrong because even though everything appears ok on the set up screen, it will only carve an image about the size of a postage stamp!! Any ideas what I might be doing wrong? Thanks, Mike
cargo115
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: piranha FX

Re: size of carve in trial version

Postby dwilli9013 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:10 am

sounds like you might need to switch over to inches instead of millimeters.
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

Re: size of carve in trial version

Postby cargo115 » Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:06 pm

That's what it acts like but I have double checked and I have inches selected. I am baffled
cargo115
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: piranha FX

Re: size of carve in trial version

Postby mtylerfl » Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:24 am

Perhaps the Trial version won't permit carving a full size version of a file you created? You can check with support@vectric.com to find out for sure.

Did the Trial version come with sample files? If so, you should be able to carve the samples.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: size of carve in trial version

Postby Adrian » Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:11 am

The trial versions will only allow you to carve the sample files. They won't save the code at all for a user created file.

It definitely sounds like a metric/imperial issue (assuming the machine has been properly calibrated to start with). Which post processor are you using when outputting the code? Is it in inches? Is your machine configured for inches?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to PhotoVCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests