Setting Material Size in PVC

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.

Setting Material Size in PVC

Postby wblydiejr » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:51 pm

New to carving litophanes using PVC notice when I Add Image and try and set Material Size to size I want PVC sets for me. How can I set size I want in PVC for lithophane I want to carve? Do I need to setup in PVC then Import into VCarve and reset Material Size? Can I do this in VCarve and retain everything setup in PVC?

Thanks for any help
wblydiejr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX

Re: Setting Material Size in PVC

Postby Adrian » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:06 pm

Not sure I understand the problem. Setting the material size is the 2nd step when creating a job in PVC. Although it defaults to the size of the image (why wouldn't it?), you can change it to whatever you want at that stage. Are you pressing the Apply button before moving onto step 3?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Setting Material Size in PVC

Postby Bob Reda » Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:26 pm

In photo v carve if you try to adjust the size it automatically links the x and y. I would size it in v carve and like Adrian says it will revert to that size when imported.

Bob
Bob Reda
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Monessen, Pa
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot 48x48 upgraded prt

Re: Setting Material Size in PVC

Postby Xxray » Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:49 am

Used to irk me at first, but the auto x/y linking makes sense - Else you'll either end up with alot of wasted blank space in 1 axis or an out of proportion model, neither of which is desirable for a litho.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1


Return to PhotoVCarve - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests