will i ever get this right???

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
drrobin
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Handibot

will i ever get this right???

Post by drrobin »

Okay, ready to cut my finishing toolpath for my lithoplane. I did a roughing pass and it looked like my inverted pic so I was excited. Then it was recommended I Z0 off the top of the table so I did that and recalculated and it was 21 hours! So, I went back to zeroing off the top of the material and it says 4 hours 3 minutes. However, when I began cutting, there really wasn't enough cutting past the roughing to hardly even make any dust.

I'm posting screen shots of each section in PVC. Can someone please look and see what I'm doing wrong? I'm hoping its not going to take 21 hours! I have a handibot... I went by the instructions on the video since I've never done this before. I would love to be able to try again tomorrow since I have the day off. Please and thank you!! Robin
Attachments
Screenshot (18).png
Screenshot (19).png
Screenshot (20).png
Screenshot (21).png
Screenshot (22).png

woody53
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Probotix Meteor 25 x 50

Re: will i ever get this right???

Post by woody53 »

Robin, I dont know why you did a roughing pass, I never have . I have done many, many lithopanes. I usually use a .032 tapered ballnose and a 5 x 7 litho can be done in around 6 hours. I run @ 130 IPM , .093 deep, 10% step over. Hope this helps, and I told you right.

Dave

drrobin
Vectric Apprentice

Post by drrobin »

Thanks Dave, I'm open to any suggestions:-) I'll try that. Hey, noticed you live in JC! I live in Versailles just a little south of you! Small world...

drrobin
Vectric Apprentice

Post by drrobin »

Another question... do you set your bit to be 0.093 and do one pass or leave it at the diameter and basically on this do 2 passes?

drrobin
Vectric Apprentice

Post by drrobin »