Large litho question

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
large519
Model of CNC Machine: denford microrouter/denford triac

Large litho question

Post by large519 »

I am currently making litho's to a size of approx 8x6 (200x150), and wondered if I made a litho that is bigger than my machine limits out of a few pieces of corian, by using the tile toolpath option in aspire, how would you join the finished pieces together?? to get a seam less join and would you see the join line once lit. has anyone done this before??

Jozua
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: EZ-Router

Re: Large litho question

Post by Jozua »

The only possible solution may be to use corian glue which is in fact “liquid corian”.

I am no expert to say that one will not see the seams, but I think this would be your best option.

I would try it on 2 pieces of scrap first before committing to a project like that and waste material and machine time.

Joz

martin54
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber 48, Triac PC, Isel fixed gantry

Post by martin54 »

what sort of size are you talking about just out of interest?

As for the joins yes you will be able to see them, there are a number of factors that will determine just how prominent they are & the viewing distance will also make a difference. Important to make sure the edges that meet are perfectly square or you will get light showing through the join which generally looks worse than a darker coloured line. Not sure if it is possible using photovcarve to rebate them & if it is how you would go about it.

large519

Post by large519 »

Yeah, Ive heard about the corian glue, and I did think that the joins would have to be absolutely perfect.

Had no specific size in mind, just thought what would the possibility be of.... A large litho bigger than my current machining limitations.

But then again I suppose I'd just get a bigger machine,:-D

NormanAlbert
Vectric Wizard

Post by NormanAlbert »