A newbies journey into Photo v carve.

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
Creative Structures
Model of CNC Machine: Industrial CNC

A newbies journey into Photo v carve.

Post by Creative Structures »

Hello I've been a carpenter my whole life. But I'm very new to the cnc world. I'm going to start this thread to document my journey. And hopefully help people along the way.
My first attempt was a photo of a tiger.
Original photo
Original photo
. I used a 60 degree v carve bit. Here are my pitiful results.
first attempt
first attempt
. So after some research I switched to a 7.5 degree engraving bit. With a .065 tip. I was hoping this would get rid of the lines. My only problem was the bit tip was to small to match the line spacing. But I tried anyway.
second attempt
second attempt
. Much better results, but still left lines. So I have decided to order a different bit. Going to go with a carving bit but with a larger tip to help match the lines spacing.

So I thought I knew what I was doing so I tried a pic of my daughter. With the carving bit, trying to match the line spacing to my bit tip.
tt attempt.jpg
Horrible results. I played with the depth quite a bit but could not get the detail and better. I'm hoping a better bit with a slightly larger tip and less of an angle will help. I will order one tomorrow, and post my new finding in a few days.

In my research I've come up with a very newbie question. When people call for an overlap of say 35% when setting up a tool path what do they mean by this?

BDM
Vectric Craftsman

Re: A newbies journey into Photo v carve.

Post by BDM »

Try removing the background in the photos first and then proceed with your bit test. You'll have more contrast and take less time to carve.

Creative Structures

Can anyone explain or offer help in what is meant when people adjust overlay?

tonydude919
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: cnc mako shark ext bed with HD 5 gantry

Post by tonydude919 »

Hi,