Carving Bas Reliefs of Photos

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
M Rabin
Model of CNC Machine: shark

Carving Bas Reliefs of Photos

Post by M Rabin »

I have posted a similar posting on the CNC Shark forum but I wanted to also post it here. In short I am new to CNC but bought the photVcarve because I thought it could convert photos to bas reliefs. It is a great engraving program but I wanted to carve deeper wood projects. It took me two months of trolling the internet and almost giving up before I discovered that people were using gray scaling and height mapping interchangeably. They are very different. Simple gray scaling wont help in carving but height mapping using gray scaling does. I am using a program called GIMP (I didn't want to spend the money on photoshop and GIMP is free.) I have no experience with CAM or photoshop or CNC, but I knew I wanted to carve pictures. Now I can! I would be happy to post details but in brief I paint over the picture using low opacities of white and black to bring out the features. White is shallow and black is deep. I use layer after layer until the picture is right then I export it and examine the results in photVcarve over and over until it is right. Acorns and babies are relatively easy but dogs are very difficult. I chose the hardest dog I could find- mine, with black and white. Note a black nose will be a deep hole. Using GIMP I alter the colors slowly until they are the right shades of gray and then I get the final picture. If people are doing this I would love to hear about it and see if there is an easier way but like I said after 2 months of hunting I haven't found anyone converting pictures relatively easily to bas reliefs. I do lose a lot of detail doing it my way. It takes me about 30 minutes to convert a picture. I have done 8 and would be happy to post others.
Attachments
Original Phot
Original Phot
Converted picture- note the shading
Converted picture- note the shading
Final preview.