Alternate line starting points

This forum has been created for users to submit suggestions for Gadgets

Alternate line starting points

Postby andyb » Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:11 pm

I would like to see a gadget that would alternate the starting point for a series of lines. Example if you have a series of open vertical lines and the start point is at the bottom of all the lines. The gadget would alternate the start points from bottom to top or top to bottom. This would be very handy when creating textures. It would keep the gantry moves of the toolpaths down.

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]
User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Location: Oakwood, GA
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha

Re: Alternate line starting points

Postby Adrian » Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:19 pm

Paul's GreenSquares gadget does that already I believe - http://paulrowntree.weebly.com/gadgets.html
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Alternate line starting points

Postby andyb » Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:50 pm

Adrian,
I checked it out a while back and I think that is the one thing it doesn't do but I will have a look again and report back.

Thanks

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]
User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Location: Oakwood, GA
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha

Re: Alternate line starting points

Postby FixitMike » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:25 pm

To use the GreenSquares gadget to flip the starting points on every other vector, add a line that is below the (Assuming vertical) vectors, at a distance about equal to the length of the lines, and select it and every other line and then run the gadget. The extra line is to to provide an offset to the center of the GreenSquares selection bounding box.

I would move the selected vectors to another layer and turn off the original layer for convenience in working with them, but this is not necessary .

If you select all of the vectors and open the Offset tool, you can see where the start nodes are on all of them.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (modified)

Re: Alternate line starting points

Postby andyb » Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:23 pm

Mike,
The problem is that the files have hundreds of lines on several layer. If would be nice to select all the lines on a layer and have the start point flip. Selecting every other line is not an option.

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]
User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Location: Oakwood, GA
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha

Re: Alternate line starting points

Postby PaulRowntree » Fri Mar 11, 2016 7:18 am

Andy, check out the video, I think the gadget does exactly what you are asking for (unless I am missing something).

When Mike wrote "select every other line" he meant "all of the other lines", not "1, 3 5 7 etc"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxfRhJh ... e=youtu.be

Cheers!
pr
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)


Return to Gadgets - Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest