Moving objects to a new layer

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets

Moving objects to a new layer

Postby jimandi5000 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:24 pm

Hello everyone,

I don't know if it's the lack of caffeine, but I have come to realize... I have to ask the question.

How do you move selected objects from one layer to another?

I am writing a simple gadget that creates an object (simple rectangle) on a temporary layer and then applies a tool path (pocket) to that object and I want to move it to a destination layer. I can selected but I cannot seem to figure out how to get it to a destination layer.

I have copied it... But when I delete the original object the tool path as lost relationship.

I am completely befuddled.

Would appreciate any insight. Okay, I'm begging for help here. :wink:
jimandi5000
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Joes4x4

Re: Moving objects to a new layer

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:32 pm

Right click on an object you have selected...choose Move to Layer or Copy to Layer...choose an existing Layer or create a new one you want the object to be moved or copied to
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3284
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Moving objects to a new layer

Postby Adrian » Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:44 pm

If you're moving from layer to layer and you've already got it associated with a toolpath then the toolpath is not going to know anything about that move. There isn't a link maintained so you would need to recreate that relationship.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to Gadgets - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests