Dovetail Gadget

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets

Dovetail Gadget

Postby MWinn » Sun Jun 03, 2018 5:02 pm

Hello,

I have been trying for weeks to get the dovetail gadget to work in VCarve Pro 9.

When I create my sides and attemp to create my PINs I get the screen in the attached screenshot.
It always only creates one end of the pins in the correct spot.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks

MW
Attachments
Dovetail Gadget.png
MWinn
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: StepCraft 840

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Adrian » Sun Jun 03, 2018 5:17 pm

Change the start node on the vector that is the wrong way round to be on the other end and that will sort it.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8442
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby MWinn » Sun Jun 03, 2018 5:51 pm

Ah, that was the culprit,

tyvm

MW
MWinn
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: StepCraft 840

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby fredfow3 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:12 pm

Just a tip,

If you make the boxes and use the "Explode Vectors" gadget on them, it will make all the start points correct.

Cheers,
fredfow3
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:40 am
Location: Massachusetts
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Swift 4x4, Shapeoko S3 XL

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Belgard » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:56 pm

So, on my dovetail gadget, it is inserting the pins backward or facing outward. I am following the tutorial to the T, and its just not inserting them correct... help
Belgard
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Adrian » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:57 pm

Belgard wrote:So, on my dovetail gadget, it is inserting the pins backward or facing outward. I am following the tutorial to the T, and its just not inserting them correct... help

Have you changed the start node position?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8442
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Belgard » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:08 pm

no, apparently not. How do I do that?
Belgard
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Adrian » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:18 pm

Go into node edit mode (press N) click on the vector and you'll see a green square at one end. Hover over the black node at the other end of the vector and press P to make that the start point. Rerun the gadget.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8442
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Postby Belgard » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:51 pm

thank you. it works!!!!!
Belgard
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5


Return to Gadgets - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests