Gadget: Add Tabs to Contour for use in a Toolpath

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets

Gadget: Add Tabs to Contour for use in a Toolpath

Postby CNCDaveToo » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:40 pm

I have developed a fairly simple gadget that creates a new layer and then adds a contour generated from a series of LineTo commands that completes at the starting point, leaving a closed line object.

What I would dearly like to add to this is the ability to add tabs at very specific locations on the contour so that when I apply a toolpath, the tabs are integrated into the toolpath.

From the API documentation (page 58), I see that I can add tabs to the Contour object (using the :InsertToolPathAtTabAtPoint method).

What I don't understand is: where are these tabs saved? Is it part of the Contour object itself that will become visible when I apply a toolpath the to object?

Or, do I need to somehow apply them at toolpath creation?
CNCDaveToo
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:47 am
Location: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop

Re: Gadget: Add Tabs to Contour for use in a Toolpath

Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:38 pm

When vectors are copied and pasted between sessions the tab information goes with them so I'd say it must be stored at the contour level.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7808
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Gadget: Add Tabs to Contour for use in a Toolpath

Postby CNCDaveToo » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:38 am

Many thanks Adrian!! You were dead on -- I'm able to generate tabs with abandon!!
CNCDaveToo
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:47 am
Location: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop


Return to Gadgets - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests