Manual tool change in Mach3

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
Phillycyberjoe

Manual tool change in Mach3

Post by Phillycyberjoe »

Hey Folks,
I am new to Vectric products as well as this forum...actually, I'm new to CNC all together. Santa delivered VCP + Cut3D...way cool.

In learning VCP, I did a simple test that required two toolpaths. When saving the project to Mach3, it wouldn't save both paths and I have no idea how to do that. Do I really have to run one toolpath and then the other? My machine does not have an ATC, so all tool changes will have to be manual. It looks like I should be able to do this, but I must be missing something.

Can anyone help me to get started with this?

thanks much,
Joe

Wemme
Vectric Wizard

Post by Wemme »

Hello Joe
Welcome to the forum.

When you go to the "Save toolpath" window click the "Output all visible toolpaths to one file" check box.
This then allows you to select which toolpaths are to be saved into a file provided that they all use the same tool, an error message will appear if they are not. for the attached example all three toolpaths will be saved to a single file. so in effect you can have one file per tool regardless of how many toolpaths.

Hope this helps
Regards
Bart
Attachments
toolpath.jpg

Phillycyberjoe

Post by Phillycyberjoe »

Bart,
I appreciate the feedback. I have tried using the checkbox for making all toolpaths into a single file, however, my problem is that I am using two different tools. All I'm trying to do is to vcarve some text with a "V" bit and then some texturing with an endmill. Am I to understand that this cannot be done with a single file? I am certain that Mach3 has the provision for doing manual tool changes, but if I understand things correctly, VCP is not outputting the proper codes to tell the spindle to stop so the tool can be change. I sure hope I'm explaining this correctly!

Thanks again,
Joe

DwayneInfo

Post by DwayneInfo »