NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products

NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:52 am

Hey guys, pretty new around here. I asked this question a couple days back regarding a post processor for my machine to no avail. I realized there is POST PROCESSOR area so I'll try here.
I really need some help with my machine. I have art I wanna run for Xmas gifts in CUT2D.PRO but I can't get my Biesse machine to run the files.

Is there anyone who can help me get this going? I use a : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby IslaWW » Sat Dec 03, 2016 2:45 pm

There is a postP in the folder for the Biesse Skil GFT, have you tried it?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:07 pm

IslaWW wrote:There is a postP in the folder for the Biesse Skil GFT, have you tried it?


Yes i have. I tried a few of them just to see if anything worked. Nothing did.

I posted details initially in the CUT2D section with issues i was having. I actually was reading your posts helping someone a few years ago and you guys where talking about the Skill models there if i remeber correctly. I dont know how to send a link to that thread but its very close to the top in the CUT2D section of the forum. If you could perhaps read the issues that would be greatly appreciated. Im hoping its just something im missing as i dont understand the backend stuff like post processors and all other code related stuff. I make parts in cad and cut them. I followed every step in all the tutorials on vectric and from users on youtube as well.

Hope to hear back IslaWW
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby IslaWW » Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:47 am

Not being familiar with the Biesse operating system, let me make the following suggestion:

Download the trial version of VCarve Pro, open one of the free projects, toolpath it, select the most likely Biesse postP and see if your machine will accept the code. You wont need material on the bed, just raise the bit an inch and set a temp ZZero there. You may want to try using any and all posts with Biesse in the name.

There are some functions in VCPro that Cut2D does not have, this will see if you can get viable code to the machine.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:17 am

IslaWW wrote:Not being familiar with the Biesse operating system, let me make the following suggestion:

Download the trial version of VCarve Pro, open one of the free projects, toolpath it, select the most likely Biesse postP and see if your machine will accept the code. You wont need material on the bed, just raise the bit an inch and set a temp ZZero there. You may want to try using any and all posts with Biesse in the name.

There are some functions in VCPro that Cut2D does not have, this will see if you can get viable code to the machine.


Thanks again for getting back..

Maybe this might help in troubleshooting here.

Im going to attach a exported file from cut2d.pro and show you what came up in Biesseworks after applying a post that at least was read by my editor on my cnc. It reads the file, the geometries are there as you can see, just no tooling? If it's showing the geometries does that mean it's the correct post processor and my tooling is incorrect or not necessarily? I will also show you a pic of my spindle with tool names, maybe that might help in showing you where I might be making errors. You can see the names of the bits and the spindle position, maybe my tool naming is wrong in Cut2D & VCarve?

ie: #3(spindle position) has a bit called UD0926 = that means UP/DOWN(compression bit) 9mm(diameter) 26mm(useful length)

hope this helps
Attachments
toolchanger.gif
biesseworks.gif
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby LittleGreyMan » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:07 am

Jason,

No offense intended, but for what I understand from your post, it seems you don't have a clear idea of the process. I apologize if it's not the case: one can find beginners and skilled users or professionals on this forum, and we don't know your level.

First, you have to design your work (2D or 3D) in a CAD system. In 2D, it means drawing the vectors you intend to cut.

Then you use a CAM system to calculate toolpaths that will properly cut your material. The CAM system computes these toolpaths into its internal format, which is not understandable by machines.

The last operation in the CAM system is to translate this internal language in a code the machine will understand. It's generally g-code (with all its variants), but some manufacturers use another language. Think of the postprocessor as the dictionary the CAM uses for translation.

The output file is a text file with a specific extension (.iso, .nc; …) depending on the machine.

Cut2D is a CAD-CAM system. So selecting the right postprocessor and assigning the same tool positions as in Biesseworks, you should generate a code your machine will execute. You must not use Biesseworks, except perhaps to load the code in the machine.

I do not know Biesseworks, and have no idea how to send directly code to a Biesse CNC.

It seems Biesseworks is also a CAD-CAM system, so it doesn't Make sense using Cut2D and Biesseworks together.

HTH
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:31 am

LittleGreyMan wrote:Jason,

No offense intended, but for what I understand from your post, it seems you don't have a clear idea of the process. I apologize if it's not the case: one can find beginners and skilled users or professionals on this forum, and we don't know your level.

First, you have to design your work (2D or 3D) in a CAD system. In 2D, it means drawing the vectors you intend to cut.

Then you use a CAM system to calculate toolpaths that will properly cut your material. The CAM system computes these toolpaths into its internal format, which is not understandable by machines.

The last operation in the CAM system is to translate this internal language in a code the machine will understand. It's generally g-code (with all its variants), but some manufacturers use another language. Think of the postprocessor as the dictionary the CAM uses for translation.

The output file is a text file with a specific extension (.iso, .nc; …) depending on the machine.

Cut2D is a CAD-CAM system. So selecting the right postprocessor and assigning the same tool positions as in Biesseworks, you should generate a code your machine will execute. You must not use Biesseworks, except perhaps to load the code in the machine.

I do not know Biesseworks, and have no idea how to send directly code to a Biesse CNC.

It seems Biesseworks is also a CAD-CAM system, so it doesn't Make sense using Cut2D and Biesseworks together.

HTH



I get all that and I appreciate the breakdown of the steps you've explained. They are the exact ones i've taken.

So heres why im using CUT2D.pro. It's for importing sketchup models. Dozens of cabinets, hundreds of parts. Vectrics import of .skp is thr most powerful I know of. Laying out 50 sheets of nested files and assigning one tool path template allows me to nest a entire job in basically minutes. If you haven't seen how that works you would understand why i'm not doing it in biesseworks, or manually. Im good at nesting in biesseworks, can create any parts within the program itself but all complex geometries that are not necessarily parametric repeat/common parts or shapes I will do in cad and export to dxf files. I have a few post processors on the machine already. I use mastercamX9, Enroute and am trying to get Vectrics post for Cut2d specifically for its nesting capabilities used in conjuntion with toolpath templates. It's basically for simple, volume casework and door exporting. Saves loads of post work.
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby IslaWW » Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:20 pm

Jason...
Import a simple file from Sketchup into Cut2D, toolpath something simple, save the cut file and post that file here.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby ger21 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:38 pm

Unfortunately, most of the big Italian machines do things their own unique ways, and unless you know exactly what the Biesse control expects, or know someone that does, you could be in for a steep uphill climb.

Do you know if the "g-code" is in standard text format, or a binary format?
Can you post some sample code that works from Biesseworks, and the code you are getting from Cut2D?

I've never used a Biesse, but have been using Italian machines for cabinet work for 20 years now.

I've found that very few people in this industry really take advantage of what software can do for efficiency, often because they don't want to spend the money on the proper software that the machine needs to be most efficient.

Yes, just about every week I generate 40-50 sheets of nested g-code with nothing more than 2-3 mouse clicks.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:07 pm

IslaWW wrote:Jason...
Import a simple file from Sketchup into Cut2D, toolpath something simple, save the cut file and post that file here.


Sounds good....... I'm uploading 2 files. Ones a tool path template, the other is the working .ISO file...
Attachments
VECTRIC.islaWW.zip
the cut file is the .ISO, the other is the toolpath template
(3.37 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:25 pm

ger21 wrote:Unfortunately, most of the big Italian machines do things their own unique ways, and unless you know exactly what the Biesse control expects, or know someone that does, you could be in for a steep uphill climb.

Do you know if the "g-code" is in standard text format, or a binary format?
Can you post some sample code that works from Biesseworks, and the code you are getting from Cut2D?

I've never used a Biesse, but have been using Italian machines for cabinet work for 20 years now.

I've found that very few people in this industry really take advantage of what software can do for efficiency, often because they don't want to spend the money on the proper software that the machine needs to be most efficient.

Yes, just about every week I generate 40-50 sheets of nested g-code with nothing more than 2-3 mouse clicks.


Here's the deal with my machines. I have an old Rover.27 & a Skill.15.36.G.FT. The Rover uses a G-CODE editor, it's a little blue background dialog box that shows you the g-code and everything is done through that app. The Skill uses it's own .bpp file through Biesse Works and the post processsors from Vectric run .ISO files it seems. The Skill also runs .CIX files from mastercam. Different programs, different files. There are three post processed files that I run all the time on the Skill.

I just added some files in response to IslaWWs post right above your first one. I've sent him a sketchup exported file with some simple tool and drilling applied and exported to the post processor named: "Biesse Skill G FT(*.ISO)" in CUT2D.PRO. If you open up that ISO file in a text editor it looks like the code below...so I'm now showing you the g-code from the ISO below. This file is cutting a cabinet gable with some adjustable shelf 5mm holes drilled into it.

[COMMENTO]
[CENTRO01]
PARAMETRI=000000000
UTENSILI=000000000
LABELF=000000000
LABELC=000000000
FORATURA=000000000
CONTORNATURA=000000000
TABELLEFORI=000000000
CONFASSIST=000000000
ATTREZZAGGIO=000000000
[PARAMETRI01]
N10 G71 HC=1 LY=1219.200 PLPZ=19.050 PDM=0 PUOS=0 FIL=0 BLO=0 ACC=0 RUO=1 PRS=1 PRL=1 PPWQ=0.000 KA=256.000 LZ=19.050 LX=2438.400
%
[UTENSILI01]
%
[CONTORNATURA01]
N18 XO0 YO0 G0
N19 PAN=1 ST1="DRILL5" ST2="NULL" ST3="NULL" L=PCUA
N20 ANC=0.0 PAN=1 UT=0 ST1="" L=GPREPTP
N21 L=GSELTP ST1="1"
N22 L=GALIAS
N23 QX=0 QY=0 ST2="NULL" PRKZ=1 PG40=40 ST1="1" PRF=-20 VF=2 F=5 ST3="NULL" L=PON
N24 WL(PRWL)=2 WL(PRWL+1)=0 M28
N25 WL(PRWL)=2 WF(PRWL+1)=1 M24
N26 G0 X79.251 Y-37.000 Z-5.080
N27 G1 Z12.700 F2
N28 G0 Z-5.080
N29 G0 X111.249
N30 G1 Z12.700 F2
N31 G0 Z-5.080
N32 G0 X183.449
N33 G1 Z12.700 F2
N34 G0 Z-5.080
N35 G0 X215.450
N36 G1 Z12.700 F2
N37 G0 Z-5.080
N38 G0 X247.449
N39 G1 Z12.700 F2
N40 G0 Z-5.080
N41 G0 X279.451
N42 G1 Z12.700 F2
N43 G0 Z-5.080
N44 G0 X311.450
N45 G1 Z12.700 F2
N46 G0 Z-5.080
N47 G0 X343.451
N48 G1 Z12.700 F2
N49 G0 Z-5.080
N50 G0 X375.450
N51 G1 Z12.700 F2
N52 G0 Z-5.080
N53 G0 X407.449
N54 G1 Z12.700 F2
N55 G0 Z-5.080
N56 G0 X439.451
N57 G1 Z12.700 F2
N58 G0 Z-5.080
N59 G0 X471.449
N60 G1 Z12.700 F2
N61 G0 Z-5.080
N62 G0 X503.451
N63 G1 Z12.700 F2
N64 G0 Z-5.080
N65 G0 X535.450
N66 G1 Z12.700 F2
N67 G0 Z-5.080
N68 G0 X567.451
N69 G1 Z12.700 F2
N70 G0 Z-5.080
N71 G0 X599.450
N72 G1 Z12.700 F2
N73 G0 Z-5.080
N74 G0 X663.451
N75 G1 Z12.700 F2
N76 G0 Z-5.080
N77 G0 X695.449
N78 G1 Z12.700 F2
N79 G0 Z-5.080
N80 G0 X599.450 Y-532.900
N81 G1 Z12.700 F2
N82 G0 Z-5.080
N83 G0 X567.451
N84 G1 Z12.700 F2
N85 G0 Z-5.080
N86 G0 X535.450
N87 G1 Z12.700 F2
N88 G0 Z-5.080
N89 G0 X503.451
N90 G1 Z12.700 F2
N91 G0 Z-5.080
N92 G0 X471.449
N93 G1 Z12.700 F2
N94 G0 Z-5.080
N95 G0 X439.451
N96 G1 Z12.700 F2
N97 G0 Z-5.080
N98 G0 X407.449
N99 G1 Z12.700 F2
N100 G0 Z-5.080
N101 G0 X375.450
N102 G1 Z12.700 F2
N103 G0 Z-5.080
N104 G0 X343.451
N105 G1 Z12.700 F2
N106 G0 Z-5.080
N107 G0 X311.450
N108 G1 Z12.700 F2
N109 G0 Z-5.080
N110 G0 X279.451
N111 G1 Z12.700 F2
N112 G0 Z-5.080
N113 G0 X247.449
N114 G1 Z12.700 F2
N115 G0 Z-5.080
N116 G0 X215.450
N117 G1 Z12.700 F2
N118 G0 Z-5.080
N119 G0 X183.449
N120 G1 Z12.700 F2
N121 G0 Z-5.080
N122 L=POFF
N123 PAN=1 ST1="UD0924 {0.375 inch}" ST2="NULL" ST3="NULL" L=PCUA
N124 ANC=0.0 PAN=1 UT=0 ST1="" L=GPREPTP
N125 L=GSELTP ST1="1"
N126 L=GALIAS
N127 QX=0 QY=0 ST2="NULL" PRKZ=1 PG40=40 ST1="1" PRF=-20 VF=1 F=3 ST3="NULL" L=PON
N128 WL(PRWL)=2 WL(PRWL+1)=0 M28
N129 WL(PRWL)=2 WF(PRWL+1)=1 M24
N130 G0 X0.000 Y4.762 Z-5.080
N131 G1 Z19.050 F1
N132 G5 X-4.762 Y0.000 R-4.762 F3
N133 G1 Y-569.900 F3
N134 G5 X0.000 Y-574.662 R-4.762 F3
N135 G1 X774.700 F3
N136 G5 X779.462 Y-569.900 R-4.762 F3
N137 G1 Y0.000 F3
N138 G5 X774.700 Y4.762 R-4.762 F3
N139 G1 X0.000 F3
N140 G0 Z-5.080
N141 WL(PRWL)=3 WF(PRWL+1)=1 M24
N142 Z=PRK FX=100 FY=100 FZ=100 G1 G300 M5
N143 WL(PRWL)=2 WL(PRWL+1)=0 M28
N144 WL(PRWL)=1 WF(PRWL+1)=0 M24
N145 L=POFF
N146 TP0 TRZ=0
%
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby IslaWW » Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:58 pm

I cannot find anything readable in either of the files in your attached zip file. Post the crv
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby CDNbacon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:22 pm

IslaWW wrote:I cannot find anything readable in either of the files in your attached zip file. Post the crv







Ok..try this....
Attachments
IslaWW.crv
(89 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
CDNbacon
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:24 am
Location: VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
Model of CNC Machine: BIESSE SKILL G FT / BIESSE ROVER 27

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby IslaWW » Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:46 am

CRV opened fine. Using your toolpaths, I posted this with the Biesse Skill G FT (ISO*) postP included with VCarve Pro. I didn't audit line by line, but for the most part the header reads the same as your posted ISO file.

I am attaching the file for you to look over, or load into the machine for an air cut to see if it returns any errors. I added the TXT extension to allow posting on the forum. Remove the ".TXT" before attempting to load.

IslaWW.ISO.txt
(3.32 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: NEED HELP : BIESSE SKILL 15.36 G FT post processor

Postby Adrian » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:30 am

That PP is the same in Cut2D as it is in VCarve though.

Do the names of your tools in Cut2D match the names of the tools in the Biesse software? They have to match for it to pick them up.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7411
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Next

Return to Post Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests