Strange result with a new tool using my post-processor.

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
Post Reply
bswdcad
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: MasterWood

Strange result with a new tool using my post-processor.

Post by bswdcad »

I adapted an existing post-processor for the specifics of one of my machine which I'm working (an old MasterWood Winner 3.2).

I just created a new tool by copying an existing one, I changed the name and the "Tool Number" and saved as a new tool.

The problem is that now, if I'm using the new tool (nr. 8) for Toolpath Operations, the resulted Gcode is loosing the references to the Feeds and Plunge rate when saving using my custom post-processor and I don't understand why.

The old gcode:
======================
(Tool: End Mill (20 mm))
(Tool Number: 2)


G172 X0.00 Y0.00 Z-20.00 S18 F9 T25/2
G172 X-10.00 Y-10.00 Z-6.00
G101 Z10.50 F1
G101 Y290.05 F9
=====================

The new Gcode using a new tool:
=====================
(Tool: End Mill_20mm_2)
(Tool Number: 8 )


G172 X0.00 Y0.00 Z-20.00 S18 E0 F0 T25/8
G172 X-10.00 Y-10.00 Z-6.00
G101 Z10.50 F0
G101 Y290.05 F0
===================


I don't know how to fix this. I need to add something to post-processor or is a bug of Vcarve?

As a quick fix I found that I can change only the tool number into the .prg file (from T25/2 to T25/8) but is not a solution for the long run.

I uploaded some files. Just changed the extension from .prg to .txt because if I'm using the .prg extension it is not allowing me to upload.
Attachments
MW_Winner_3.2_Yneg.pp
(4.48 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
gfTr9.txt
(1.01 KiB) Downloaded 175 times
gfTr9_new.txt
(1.02 KiB) Downloaded 180 times

User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1964
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: A few ...
Location: Alcester U.K
Contact:

Re: Strange result with a new tool using my post-processor.

Post by BrianM »

In that post you are multiplying the feedrate by 0.001 and then outputting with out any decimal places. Unless you have a massive value set for the feedrate in the program this is going to result in a feedrate less than zero whith will be output as 0

Code: Select all

VAR FEED_RATE = [F|C|F|1.0|0.001]
VAR PLUNGE_RATE = [E|C|E|1.0|0.001666]
It would be worth looking at the post processing guide for details of the variable formatting

Brian

bswdcad
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: MasterWood

Re: Strange result with a new tool using my post-processor.

Post by bswdcad »

Thank you for the answer. The machine I have (MasterWood) it is not understanding thousand but instead he is used the simplified version (9 x 1000 = 9000).

S18 = Spindle speed 18000.

Hope you understand.

What is strange is that the way I made the setup is working with existing tools from library, but it is not working with new tool I created.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 14650
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Strange result with a new tool using my post-processor.

Post by Adrian »

Make sure you've selected the same feed rate units on the new tools as the old ones. A common mistake is not to change the values in the drop down so you have m/sec when you might want inches/minute for example.

Post Reply