corrupt processor file

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products

corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:00 pm

hello folks
got a problem with my machine. i have a cnc shark 24x24. its about 4 years old now. i know now its too small, i didn't realize it when i bought it. so i've been driving it hard. using vcarve pro v8.5 don't use it enough to upgrade to v9, in my opinion. having problems with tile tool-path now. when i start T2, the vectors don,t line up. its like the board is not square to the table. but thats not it, i checked.
could it be a corrupt processor file?
do i need to send it in to be checked?
thought mabye trade it in for something else. i don't know
need help from the pro's
i'm sending a picture.

thanks
otto
Attachments
IMG_0544.JPG
middle ways is T1-T2
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Hermie » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:08 pm

To me it looks like an alignment issue. How are you aligning the wood from t1 to t2? It is rare for a pp to corrupt, unless there are other issues with the computer.
Hermie
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:38 am
Location: Duncan, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: custom

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby highpockets » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:31 am

If everything looks correct in the Toolpath Preview then I'd agree with Hermie that you have an alignment issue. If you'd care to post the drawing file someone maybe able to help further.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:08 am

highpockets wrote:If everything looks correct in the Toolpath Preview then I'd agree with Hermie that you have an alignment issue. If you'd care to post the drawing file someone maybe able to help further.

The table “is” square with cutter.
Drill hole on both side of x at the botton.
Then drill same two holes at the tile line
at t1 t2. When finished with t1 pull the work down on the y axis and line the two holes to the bottom with wood dowels.
??
The preview looked good.
It did this three times. Came out the
same on each
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby highpockets » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:47 am

If you can't post the Vectric Job file can you at least post a pic of the Toolpath Preview and Tile Manager?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:48 pm

highpockets wrote:If you can't post the Vectric Job file can you at least post a pic of the Toolpath Preview and Tile Manager?

Sure
I'll send them to ya
Thanks
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:14 pm

Just Starting wrote:
highpockets wrote:If you can't post the Vectric Job file can you at least post a pic of the Toolpath Preview and Tile Manager?

Sure
I'll send them to ya
Thanks


your file is petty E cutout
Attachments
petty E cutout.crv
(885.5 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby highpockets » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:32 pm

Looking at your file it all looks good. Why all the holes? There was no Toolpath for the holes in the file, how are you locating and drilling the holes?

Sorry if the attached pic and questions are remedial, just trying to understand how you have things setup.

The red rectangle along the left side represents the guide rail. The blue box is the outline of the material.

When I previewed T1 then T2 it all works out. I don't believe it's a PP problem. I believe it's a registration problem.

Image 319.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:56 pm

highpockets wrote:Looking at your file it all looks good. Why all the holes? There was no Toolpath for the holes in the file, how are you locating and drilling the holes?

Sorry if the attached pic and questions are remedial, just trying to understand how you have things setup.

The red rectangle along the left side represents the guide rail. The blue box is the outline of the material.

When I previewed T1 then T2 it all works out. I don't believe it's a PP problem. I believe it's a registration problem.

Image 319.png


i used a couple for reference hole when pulling the work down for T2 cut.
you know i just downloaded an update for the shark before i did the job. it very well could be
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:58 pm

Just Starting wrote:
highpockets wrote:Looking at your file it all looks good. Why all the holes? There was no Toolpath for the holes in the file, how are you locating and drilling the holes?

Sorry if the attached pic and questions are remedial, just trying to understand how you have things setup.

The red rectangle along the left side represents the guide rail. The blue box is the outline of the material.

When I previewed T1 then T2 it all works out. I don't believe it's a PP problem. I believe it's a registration problem.

Image 319.png


i used a couple for reference hole when pulling the work down for T2 cut.
you know i just downloaded an update for the shark before i did the job. it very well could be


1/12
i hate to keep bugging you but appreciate your time your taking with me. i would call nextwave but i think their closed today.
i've narrowed this down to tile feed through. i cut straight lines. i'm sending you five pics. img 1 is a scrap cut. pull in close to see. it looks to be cutting on the tile height line. compare it to the other pic's. i'm i missing something in plain sight?
if you want to call me send me a personal message and i'll send my phone#.
thanks for all the help
otto
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:03 pm

posting.php?mode=quote&f=4&t=31314&p=226225#tabs
img 1.jpg
can't seem to send all five at the same time
Just Starting wrote:
Just Starting wrote:
highpockets wrote:Looking at your file it all looks good. Why all the holes? There was no Toolpath for the holes in the file, how are you locating and drilling the holes?

Sorry if the attached pic and questions are remedial, just trying to understand how you have things setup.

The red rectangle along the left side represents the guide rail. The blue box is the outline of the material.

When I previewed T1 then T2 it all works out. I don't believe it's a PP problem. I believe it's a registration problem.

The attachment img 1.jpg is no longer available


i used a couple for reference hole when pulling the work down for T2 cut.
you know i just downloaded an update for the shark before i did the job. it very well could be


1/12
i hate to keep bugging you but appreciate your time your taking with me. i would call nextwave but i think their closed today.
i've narrowed this down to tile feed through. i cut straight lines. i'm sending you five pics. img 1 is a scrap cut. pull in close to see. it looks to be cutting on the tile height line. compare it to the other pic's. i'm i missing something in plain sight?
if you want to call me send me a personal message and i'll send my phone#.
thanks for all the help
otto
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby Just Starting » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:12 pm

heres more pics
Attachments
img 1.jpg
tile setup.jpg
IMG_0572.jpg
Just Starting
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:10 pm
Location: Memphis, U.S. of A.
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark v21

Re: corrupt processor file

Postby highpockets » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:19 am

Otto,

The X axis alignment looks correct the Y axis isn't lined up correctly when you move the material and cut tile 2. The previews all look correct and the actual machining looks correct it down to an alignment issue. I can think of two things that can call this issue. Human error and your machine loosing Y axis steps.

To check if the second reference hole is being move to where the machine thinks it should be, try the following.

With the material against the Y axis guide rail and positioned to mill the T1, drill the reference hole. Then move the router over the lower reference hole and write down the X Y coordinates of the reference hole. Cut T1. Move the material into position to cut T2. Move the router to the saved X Y coordinates of the reference hole. If it's lined up correctly then cut the T2 and see if all works correctly. If it doesn't there's a problem with the Y alignment.

Now you get to figure out if you are the machine are at fault :lol: :lol: :lol:

Image 323.png

Image 324.png
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro


Return to Post Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests