machine or Gcode issue

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products

Re: machine or Gcode issue

Postby Rcnewcomb » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:09 pm

I believe there should be option "don't lift the tool" or something like that to remedy the issue.

I discussed this with Vectric a few years ago. From a programming standpoint there are some edge cases that make this problem tougher to solve. A shape like the one below makes it impossible to machine everything from bottom to top without lifting the bit, or without wasting a lot of time machining air.
Attachments
3DAsterix.JPG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: machine or Gcode issue

Postby MrYuri » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:20 pm

when I thought of it I realized that tool will have to make a move over the air one way or the other.
So basically the workaround is best option for many cases for this kind of application.

At least we can modify the path a bit by outlined vectors.

Happy to know someone was on it already.
MrYuri
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 2:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: F-600

Re: machine or Gcode issue

Postby adze_cnc » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:40 pm

Rcnewcomb wrote:A shape like the one below makes it impossible to machine everything from bottom to top without lifting the bit, or without wasting a lot of time machining air.


I found a way to do that in one continuous path but humans are born pattern-matchers. Hint: when going up a dead-end branch don't cut all the way from side to side to leave yourself an exit path coming back down.

Any software would have to "know" about shapes to replicate what we can do.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: machine or Gcode issue

Postby Rcnewcomb » Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:08 pm

Any software would have to "know" about shapes to replicate what we can do.

Actually the Vectric products do have optimized code for certain shapes: rectangles, ovals, circles, squares. But when dealing with irregular shapes they have to use a more general purpose algorithm.

FYI, I looked back at my support notes and I was on a rant about this on May 10, 2010. I had skipped the roughing pass, and when the finish toolpath jumped to a new area it plunged the rather expensive bit at full depth into a piece of hard maple. Neither the bit nor the block of hard maple survived the experience. :oops:
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Previous

Return to Post Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests