Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Topics related to wrapped rotary machining in Aspire or VCarve Pro

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby TReischl » Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:07 pm

Took a look at it.

The tool is going to the clearance plane (24.350) before every rapid move which is what it is supposed to do.

The tool then feeds straight down to cutting depth (8.850, 8.8350,7.850 etc) and makes the roughing cuts.

It then moves straight up to the clearance plane and rapids to the next start position.

There is nothing wrong in your code that I could find.

BTW, I run Mach3 also so I have no problem reading your code.

Your cutting feedrate is 6000 mm/in. (236 in/min).

From what I can see, you do not have a software issue.

A typical repositioning move in your code looks like:


.
.
.
.
.
N29910 G1 X22.777 A-0.445 Z7.850
N29920 G1 X22.777 A0.000 Z7.850
N29930 G00 X22.777 A0.000 Z24.350 'Retract to clearance plane
N29940 G00 X21.140 A-71.687 Z24.350 'Reposition to start of new cut
N29950 G1 X21.140 A-71.687 Z7.850 F1800.0 'Plunge at feedrate
N29960 G1 X21.167 A-71.687 Z7.850 F6000.0 'Begin cutting
N29970 G1 X21.470 A-71.399 Z7.850
N29980 G1 X21.543 A-71.399 Z7.850
N29990 G1 X21.845 A-71.112 Z7.850
N30000 G1 X21.871 A-71.112 Z7.850
.
.
.

All of your code looks like that, I could not find anything different. That code is correct and will not produce the cuts you are having a problem with.

The first thing I would do is slow the feedrates down and see what happens. I assume you are changing tools between finishing and roughing, so that means your finish tool gets a new Z zero and according to your last post does not have a problem. Does that finish tool use a much slower feedrate?
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby Hivoltage » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:33 pm

Here is the V-Carve file I used.
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby Hivoltage » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:42 pm

TReischl:
Yes I know there is nothing wrong with the file.
Vectric already discovered that.
What I am having issue is with the machine itself.
The mach3 setup or settings I have. There may be something not set right somewhere.
I am new and do not fully understand it all.
I can post screenshots of my setup if you want to evaluate it.

Gecko 540 for XYZ, TB6600 for the A
My rotary axis is a standard one from ebay (I would give you a link but they are not selling it anymore)
Here is the details for the unit I grabbed before the link disappeared:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CNC Router Rotational Rotary Axi A-axis 4th-axis 3-Jaw and Tail stock

Features:
- Chuck type: 80mm self-centering 3 Claw Chuck
- Chuck center height?49MM
- Transmission ratio 1:6 (1200 pulses / revolution) synchronization gear reducer
- 3.5A 4 lead 57 stepper motor(1.8 Degree Step Angle)
- Stainless steel dust cover
- Processing load 30KG
- Anodized rust treatment
- 4-pin connector 1 = A +, 2 = A-, 3 = B +, 4 = B-
- Dimensions 170*200*90
- MACH3 setup instructions: 1 degree required Pulse
- The formula is: 360 / subdivision stepping angle * Drive * Transmission ratio / 360 = MACH3 Pulse

subdivision setpping angle = 0.007
Drive =
Transmission ratio = 1:6

Set the microstepping to 1600.
If it's a 6:1 reduction, then it's 1600 x 6 = 9600 steps per revolution. 9600/360 = 26.66667 steps/degree.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
. Many hours watching videos on setups and calibrations.
Someone suggested I hook up the A to the Y but My system is belt driven and doing that will cause drift when the motor is not engaged. I would have to rig up some sort of locking mechanism for both ends of the Y.
I am using also a Ethernet Smooth Stepper and an extension breakout board to drive the TB6600.
I Used to use the TB6600 for XYZ and I know they are working fine. I also checked the dip settings and its set correctly as far as I can tell from others who use the same driver.
To solve the issue I need to ensure I set Mach3 up correctly.
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby TReischl » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:53 pm

Can't help you with that setup, I have no experience with the TB6600.

But before you drive yourself over the edge why not try slowing down and see what happens?

My rule is Always do the easiest things first, save the head scratching for later.

If you are pushing that axis too hard that will cause you problems, find out if that is the case. You could spend hours/days fiddling with setup parameters and still be in the same boat you are now. But hey, it is your time, not mine!


Someone suggested I hook up the A to the Y but My system is belt driven and doing that will cause drift when the motor is not engaged.

That was me. To prevent the drift on Y when it is disconnected just clamp it off so it cannot move. If your axis is dual drive make sure to unplug the other motor on that axis.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby Hivoltage » Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:38 am

I will try to decrease the feed speed and plunge rates to 1/2 of their current values and see if that will work.
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby TReischl » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:22 am

Hivoltage wrote:I will try to decrease the feed speed and plunge rates to 1/2 of their current values and see if that will work.


How about you just set them to like 1/4? IIRC your current feed rate is more than 200 IPM. I do not know your machine, it might not be able to even do 100 for all I know.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Cutting into area that ruins the part question

Postby Hivoltage » Mon Jun 24, 2019 8:05 am

I will see if I can do this soon.
Then I will post my findings.
Things here have been very busy with other projects that has made my time even getting to the machine next to nothing.
:/
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Previous

Return to Wrapped Rotary Machining

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest