Rotary axis setup

Topics related to wrapped rotary machining in Aspire or VCarve Pro

Rotary axis setup

Postby Hivoltage » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:22 pm

I have an X-carve that I have modified with a 800w spindle (aircooled) and I use the G540 board for control. Mach3 for the software control
I bought my 4th axis off of ebay: https://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-F-Style-A- ... :rk:1:pf:0
The features on that page are:
- Chuck type: 80mm self-centering 3 Claw Chuck
- Chuck center height?49MM
- Transmission ratio 1:6 (1200 pulses / revolution) synchronization gear reducer
- 3.5A 4 lead 57 stepper motor(1.8 Degree Step Angle)
- Stainless steel dust cover
- Processing load 30KG
- Anodized rust treatment
- 4-pin connector 1 = A +, 2 = A-, 3 = B +, 4 = B-
- Dimensions 170*200*90
- MACH3 setup instructions: 1 degree required Pulse
- The formula is: 360 / subdivision stepping angle * Drive * Transmission ratio / 360 = MACH3 Pulse

Everything on the X,Y,Z works with I am carving anything flat.
For some reason I cannot get the 4th axis to work properly.
I can get it to tune and it jogs. The issue is when I save the output from Vcarve the job rotates the part around multiple times.
When I look at the g-code it shows the A axis moving in the negative direction but more than 70mm as the work piece is 71mm circumference. (22.27mm diameter)
The g-code shows it going all the way up past -300.
What am I missing?
page.PNG
page1
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Re: Rotary axis setup

Postby garylmast » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:48 pm

You may have already done this, but it may need calibration. Under Settings, click set steps per unit. The rest of the steps are pretty simple.

Gary
Attachments
Capture.JPG
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Rotary axis setup

Postby Hivoltage » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:06 am

I did do the calibration. The job from vcarvepro turns the linear movement into degree rotations. In the g-code I can see that it never goes above 360 and when it runs up to 300 on one like the actual rotation of the part rotates 3 times. I have followed tutorials and used a excel sheet that is supposed to help. Nothing works properly. :/
Hivoltage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:49 am
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm x 1000mm

Re: Rotary axis setup

Postby Greolt » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:52 am

Zero the A axis DRO

Enter G0 A360 into the MDI

If it does something other than exactly one revolution then the calibration is not correct
Greolt
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Australia
Model of CNC Machine: 900 x 750 2hp Mach3 Router & others

Re: Rotary axis setup

Postby NormanAlbert » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:32 pm

Have you gone in settings to set the radius?
NormanAlbert
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:15 am
Location: Dunnellon, Florida

Re: Rotary axis setup

Postby ger21 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:09 pm

What do you have for steps/unit?

It should be 2000 x 6 / 360, which = 33.333steps/degree
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY


Return to Wrapped Rotary Machining

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests